If I Hear the Words 60 Days One More Time…

As I said earlier, we are waiting for our I-600 approval. We got our confirmation email on Jan. 24. Do I know exactly how many days ago that was? No, not off hand. I know it’s about a month ago. See, for those of you who don’t know, after you get your confirmation email from CIS that your I-600 was received, they’re supposed to give you a determination within 60 days. After that, you can travel to adopt your child.

Well, when we got our confirmation, the email said “60 days”. Now people are getting emails that say “60 working days”. “Working days” are a lot different than just “days”.  The internet is all abuzz with what this means, how long it’s really going to take, how annoyed everyone is. Yes, I’m frazzled, frustrated, and lots more adjectives but counting out each day isn’t going to make things easier for me. It seems almost torturous to look at the calendar each day. I’m just praying it will happen soon and hanging on to the fact that “He makes all things beautiful in His time”. I hope you join in that with me. The fact is, I’ll wait as long as it takes. If it’s sooner, well awesome. If it’s later, it will still be awesome, just awesome.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Feb 22, 2008 @ 22:44:30

    Hi! I just came across your blog. Your son’s birthday is the best (we share it)!!! I hope your wait is far less than 60 business days. I look forward to following your journey to your son.

    Reply

  2. Ashley
    Feb 23, 2008 @ 17:49:34

    Its like being in the doctor’s office and looking at your watch every five minutes… You want to gouge your eyes out….

    Reply

  3. tntc
    Feb 24, 2008 @ 22:28:04

    We’re stuck with an incredibly slow USCIS office, too. (I’ll spare you the details.) You can find out how far behind yours is here: https://egov.uscis.gov/cris/jsps/ptimes.jsp

    It might be bad news, but it might help you manage your expecations.

    Good luck,
    -tntc

    Reply

Leave a Reply

