My First Babies

Before I became a mom, my first love was animals, particularly dogs. I am a dog freak. I can admit that. To most people, my obsession with the canine is a little on the weird side. I don’t dress my dogs in clothes or carry them in a hand bag. I do things like hire dog sitters (see Lori’s comment in the About Me section) to let them out each and every day when I worked 8 hours. I take them to obedience classes and to “play groups”, I brush their teeth and make sure they have the best vet care available.  I plan vacations around them, and even had a 1st birthday party for my GSD that his litter mates attended. In order to make myself feel more normal, I hang out with other dog people. I worked for a vet clinic, then at an animal shelter. When you’re around these folks, spending way too much money on special food, toys, etc. is all ok. In short, my first babies are my dogs.

My Australian Cattle Dog (ASD) is about as smart a dog as I have ever seen. I’m thinking of letting her do my taxes this year.  In her younger days, she could jump about 6 feet in the air to catch a Frisbee. She’s still a fetchin’ machine, but at almost 8, has slowed down a little bit. She is now content to sleep on the bed until time to play outside. This behavior is a far cry from the constant (and when I say constant I mean constant) fetching, herding, toy tossing inside the house for about the first oh, 5 years of her life.

If my ASD is the smartest dog I’ve ever seen, my German Shepherd Dog (GSD) is the most loving dog I’ve ever seen. It annoys my husband that GSD is like Velcro, always stuck to you, well me. He follows me literally everywhere I go during the day. When he does this to my husband, he gets angry and tells him to “go somewhere”. That’s when I start singing “Close to You” by the Carpentars. “Why do birds suddenly appear..”

Later I will tell you about my IT dog. It’s a term my friend C and I came up with a few years ago. For now, here is a pic of my first babies.

neenercaleb.jpg

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karoliina
    Feb 26, 2008 @ 19:20:52

    Why did you wait so long to have a blog? You’re a natural. I love it.

    Reply

  2. Christine
    Mar 05, 2008 @ 19:22:43

    You forgot to mention that one of your best friends of all times was a crazy,yet gifted, veterinarian that also had dogs first!!!!

    Reply

  3. metaphase
    Mar 06, 2008 @ 01:08:29

    Christine,
    You’re the C I’m talking about. You’ll be highlighted in a later post about the “it” dog. Or maybe I should just call it “Crazy, Yet Gifted Veterinarian”!

    Reply

  4. Lori
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 12:18:21

    Beans and Noodles!! Ah, yes, I remember the focus in Neener’s eyes when I picked up the frisbee. And the spot on my hip where Caleb attached his shoulder blade.

    Love you and miss you! Come back to Jacksonville!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

