A New Forever Family

No, it’s not my family I’m talking about, though I wish it was.

 Anyway, CONGRATULATIONS to my friend Terri who just put her new daughter in her arms today- and forever! She is in Guatemala now having a ball, I’m sure. I’d love to post pictures of her little one because she’s a doll, but I don’t have permission. She’s very worried about her privacy.

Terri’s situation leads me to think about all of those who pursue adoption on their own, as a single. I don’t know how you all do it! This process is killer- and I have someone to cry to and lean on (insert big shout out to DH over at Changing the Past). I seriously do not think I could go through this wait alone. I know some of my friends are saying, “Char, yes you could”. No. I really don’t think so. I’ve lived all over the world and made new and wonderful friends at every step along the way. I’ve learned 3 languages besides English. I’ve even given birth to a wonderful daughter. And no, I don’t think I could do this alone. That’s part of the beauty of the support that blogland gives us. I have met lots of others going through the same trials who, without the benefit of the internet, I wouldn’t be able to “talk” to. Thanks to you all, too.

Don’t even get me started on trying to raise a child alone. I just wasn’t made for that. I can remember telling my mom that I could never be a single mom after flying to see her with my daughter. My DH stayed back in Boston for school. It wasn’t that it was a long plane ride, it was just the constant activity once we were there that I was used to having help with. Just getting all the crapola that goes along with a baby into the car for an outing (and not forgetting the baby in the mix) was enough to find a new appreciation for all the help he offers. So, here’s to you, single moms, for taking care of your kids 24/7 and working and getting all your stuff into your cars and not forgetting the baby at home.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ava & Binh's Uncle
    Mar 06, 2008 @ 14:11:20

    I have high blood pressure, loss of hair and a (turkey timer) like knot on my head that indicates when I have had almost to much. This all at the age of 45, the diagnosis, I love and cherish my wife of 23 years (this month) and the overwhelming love for my daughters. There are so many spouses and parents that can care less what their kids are doing or where their doing it,
    and the same for their spouses. To have this attitude would be much easier for ones blood pressure and mental state. But then we wouldn’t be the parents that God has meant for us to be, and the divorce rates will continue to go up. Sis it’s because of all your love and passion you have for God, your Husband, children and country. That will continue to make your heart warm with love and hurt in sorrow, but believe me when I say it’s all worth it. Yes even the loss of hair!

    Hang in there, and you will be rewarded

    Reply

Leave a Reply

