Weekend Getaway

This weekend the family took a little time and went on a weekend trip to Rhode Island. Not to bad-mouth Rhode Island, but it’s probably not the first place that comes to mind when one says “a weekend getaway”. Well, before this weekend, I had been to 48 of the 50 states. Rhode Island is one of the states I’d never visited. Strange isn’t it? I live in New England, roughly an hour and a half from Rhode Island, yet had never made it there. Well, we took this weekend to get one more state checked off the list.

We stayed at a hotel with a pool (indoor, heated of course!). Ava had a great time “swimming”. We did a little shopping, but basically just hung out at the hotel together. It was nothing fancy, but we had fun. Ava was really excited to be staying somewhere new. She enjoyed running down the long corridors of the hotel.

So, Sunday before we came back, we checked out a large pet show in Providence. I don’t think I mentioned it, but Ava is a HUGE cat lover. Neither my husband nor I did anything to initiate this infatuation with cats. I have nothing against cats. They’re cute, but I’m allergic to them. I’ve also mentioned that I’m a dog freak. This love of cats that Ava has is just a glimpse into her as a unique being. Anyway, the pet show was having a cat show as part of the festivities. We went and Ava had a great time. There were also a lot of vendors and dog stuff there, too.

There were a few booths that had some herps, mostly small snakes, though one had a small alligator that you could pet. I really like snakes ( I used to work at a zoo, but that’s another post..) and I don’t want Ava to be afraid of them. I always try to keep the same upbeat tone when pointing out snakes in books etc. that I have when I point out dogs or cats. I hear a lot of people say “oohh, a snaaake…” in like this scary tone that I think tells kids it’s something to be afraid of. Not that I want her out picking up snakes in the wild, but I don’t want her petting stray dogs, either. So, I held a ball python (one of the most docile of pet snakes) but she wasn’t too impressed by it. I guess she was just born a “cat person” and that’s that!

 ava_snake1.jpg

I couldn’t tell if I was looking down, or if I have my eyes closed here. I think they may be closed. Well, Ash had to snap the picture pretty quick because Ava wasn’t too into it, and it’s hard holding a toddler and a snake!

 

Now, I just need a trip to Alaska, and I’ll have all 50 states checked off…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leanne
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 03:11:14

    Wow! I am really impressed — 49 states!

    I used to have a pet snake 🙂

    Reply

  2. Maa-chew
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 14:41:55

    snakes are of the devil.

    Reply

  3. carissah
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 15:19:29

    Now that is what I call a pet show – they include it all! I hope you do someday make it to Alaska!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

