I have a problem

My name is Char, and I have a problem. HI CHAR! They say the first step to recovery is admitting you have a problem. So, I am stepping out and admitting it in front of the whole world. I have an addiction- to email checking.

A few short months ago, I could go three of four days before I thought, “hmm, I might need to see if I got any email..” Hey, it may even go as long as a week. The addiction starts slowly. I think it crept up on me and then got totally out of control in no time.

After we submitted our I-600, I started checking  it more frequently, but not obsessively like now. At first, it was just to see if we got our confirmation. When we did, I was like, “oh, good. There it is.”

Now, I have a full blown addiction. I am checking it every few minutes from about 10-11:30 at night when I know it’s daytime in Vietnam. I hit refresh just to see if a little 1 pops up in my inbox counter. I check it as soon as I get up in the morning so see if anything has come during the night. Since I am not getting anything from USCIS during this time so far, I am becoming obsessed with email from ANYONE at this point. Yesterday, I only got two messages all day and I was thinking, “Why isn’t anyone writing to me? I need communication, people!”

I think I’ll go find a 12 step program somewhere, but first, let me just check my email right quick…

mailbox.jpg

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elaine
    Mar 15, 2008 @ 17:24:03

    Crack me up! But I know exactly what you mean. You are part of what I suspect is quite a large 12-step-needing sisterhood.

    Reply

  2. Michelle
    Mar 15, 2008 @ 18:44:21

    Welcome to the club. I don’t know when I became so needy. I thought I was in my own little private club of shame. I think the 12 step program is an excellent idea- we should start one. Daily emails of encouragement to all the members would be required, of course…

    Reply

  3. Leanne Jenkins
    Mar 15, 2008 @ 21:01:13

    Can I sign up for the program?!?!? I am pretty obsessed as well!

    Reply

  4. carissah
    Mar 15, 2008 @ 23:04:59

    Haha – can I bet that it gets better after approval comes! Hope it comes soon!

    Reply

  5. Michelle
    Mar 17, 2008 @ 01:31:04

    I was the same way with my daughters adoption and got over it once she was home but now I’m back at the obsessing….I have to know what’s happening, anything new, any changes, etc. I understand your addiction, unfortunately. :0)

    Reply

  6. brendabarnes
    Mar 19, 2008 @ 03:02:10

    At least your not sleeping with your blackberry on your nightstand and checking it when you wake up in the middle of the night…..like me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

