Loose Ends

Today we’re just trying to get all the little things done that we need to before we leave. We have to get one thing notarized to take with us. We also have to go exchange some dog food. I know. Our dogs eat special food, and the vet gave us the wrong canned kind. I don’t want to have to worry about whether my dog is barfing all over my house while our friend who is staying with them is at work. Why can’t I just have normal dogs??

Also, I have to go to the dentist. Can you believe it? I have never had a cavity in my life, and this weekend I developed a tooth ache. It isn’t that bad, but I surely don’t want to be in Vietnam when it decides to get really bad! The pain actually started at the end of last week, but I thought maybe it was just a bit of food stuck under my gum or something. After flossing extensively, it didn’t get better. It is enough of a pain now that I know I need to get something done. Everyone is asking me if it’s going to be ok to fly after having something done, possibly.

I have a funny story about dentistry and flying. When we lived in Hawaii, we were going to fly to the continental US for a visit. Ash had a routine dentist appointment for the afternoon of the day we were leaving- just a cleaning or whatever. Well, time kept passing and he didn’t come home. I was getting annoyed because I thought he was farting around at work or something. Finally, he got home just before time for us to leave for the airport. I was like, “Where in the world have you been?” He said, “I just had a double root canal”. He did have some pain from the pressure on take-off and landing, but he is a pretty tough guy, so he was fine. Let’s hope I am, too!

**Update: I went to the dentist, and everything is fine. He suspected I was right. I may have had a bit of something that got under my gum and caused an infection. He gave me antibiotics and told me to come in for a regular check-up when we get back.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terri Anne
    Mar 25, 2008 @ 00:15:28

    Char, I am so excited for you guys!!! I can’t wait to read the updates once you’re there!!!

    Love,
    Madalynn’s Mommy (aka Terri Anne)

    PS- I developed a double tooth infection on my first trip to Guatemala… flying wasn’t too bad until the last landing. Thankfully you’ve already started the antibiotic so you will be in good shape when you leave. I came home to having a double root canal…eeeek.

    Reply

  2. Carissa
    Mar 25, 2008 @ 01:49:57

    Glad everything is ok and I hope that all goes well on the trip…

    Reply

  3. Leanne
    Mar 25, 2008 @ 12:53:13

    I guess you guys are on a plane right now?!?! Wow! I am so excited for you and your family! You are in my prayers!

    Love,
    Leanne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

