So Much to Say

Well, I have a lot I could talk about , but I know you all really just want to see the pictures! We have free internet in our room, but it acts a little strange at times. I can really only post a couple of pictures at a time. This family doesn’t take oodles of pictures, anyway. I’m trying to make an effort to take pictures while we’re here, though.

In the first picture, you can see the size difference in Ava and Binh. Keep in mind, they’re about 8.5 months apart. Binh is about the size of a 5 or 6 month old to me. I just can’t believe how tiny. He can pull up to standing and crawl. Actually he seems to be very strong physically- and a bit bull-headed! In other ways, I can see where he isn’t up to speed yet. We’re hoping to change that soon, though:)

We will be in Ho Chi Minh City until Tuesday evening, then it’s off to Hanoi for the rest of our stay. We may be done with the paperwork a little earlier than expected, so we may try to get an earlier flight if that’s an option. Part of me wants to stay and take in as much as I can of Binh’s homeland. Another part of me wants to get home and get down to the business of becoming a family in our regular surroundings.

Since I’ve been here, I have a renewed appreciation for how my ESL students feel. It’s is so frustrating, being such an avid reader, not to be able to do simple things like read signs for information. I remember feeling this way when I lived in Japan, but I soon learned the language, so even there I could communicate and get information. I am a person who reads even without meaning to, if that makes sense. If I look at a sign, I’ve read it- even if I’m not trying. Plus, I actually retain the information the sign contains. It feel so strange, awkward, and just plain not right not to be able to get information when I want it. I have to guess- “is that a hotel? Oh, wait, no. It’s a beauty parlor.” I mean I’m that far off the mark sometimes.

Ok, so here are the pictures you’ve been waiting for. Thanks for waiting this long. I told you about the first one a little. We were just messing around in our hotel after breakfast, waiting for housekeeping to finish with our room. The second is just of Binh doing a little crawling on the bed. Our room is very small and the floor is ceramic, so even if there was room for him the crawl around it probably wouldn’t be too comfortable.

ava_binh_dad.jpg

binh1.jpg

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mommy
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 01:57:09

    OH, what can I say? Have I got 2 beautiful grandbabies or what? Also, was glad to see Ashley and Char looking so happy with Ava and Binh. Looked as though in the video they were having a great time together. Just hope they don’t start pulling ahir because I think Binh probably has the most hair to pull. Love you all and can’t wait to see all 4 in person.

    Reply

  2. Lauren
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 02:38:41

    Can we get any happier?!?!? šŸ™‚ Awesome!

    Reply

  3. Ava & Binh's Uncle
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 13:36:50

    Talk about deer in headlights! Calm down Ashley you have been in more stressful times than this.
    This is the moment you and Char have been waiting for. Char take care of all three, get home safely, and I can’t wait to see you all in June. Congrats, Binh, has a lot to look forward to in his new family.

    Reply

  4. Carissa
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 00:10:17

    He is adorable!

    Reply

  5. Ava & Binh's Uncle
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 12:01:53

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY BINH! we Love Ya

    Reply

  6. Karoliina
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 15:18:46

    Happy Birthday Binh!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

