Random Thoughts

So, as always these days, I only have a few minutes. Ash is feeding Binh and Ava is taking all the money out of his wallet right now. I wanted to post a few random thoughts about our trip. I also wanted you all to know that it looks like we’ll be back in Red Sox Land on Wednesday morning. Our interview is Monday; it’s the last step in this process. After the interview, Binh will be granted his visa and we’re free to leave as a family. We didn’t get a flight until Tuesday evening, though. I have to say, I’m not looking forward to that flight! I was over it on the way here with just one kid, and Binh is so…we’ll say strong willed…Let’s just say we won’t be making any new friends with the other people on the flight!

Sidebar about travel: buying the third seat for Ava was one of the best things we could have done. On our flight to Hanoi from Ho Chi Minh, we only had two seats, so each of us had a kid on our laps. There is no way in the world we could do that for the 17 hour leg of our flight. So, if you’re bringing your child with you, get the extra seat!

Another piece of advice for those traveling soon: we bought a box of medications from Orphan Allies that has been great. It has just about every medication for children you could need, including some Rx that you may need but might be hard to get because a doctor doesn’t want to prescribe medication for a baby they haven’t seen. (I’m thinking elimite cream etc.)

I have a lot to say about the bonding process with Binh. I will probably save it for another post after we’re home, but it hasn’t come as easily as I imagined it would. Then again, it’s only been a week! Binh wakes up every two hours in the night. Ash has been a lifesaver and has been doing night time duty while I try to keep Ava asleep amidst the crying. Binhjamin was waking up literally kicking and screaming from what seemed like a dead sleep. I think it was a stage of grief for him. He is doing better now, but still needs to go back to sleep with a bottle each and every time he wakes. During the day, he is pretty happy, not a barrel of monkeys or anything, but is starting to be content playing on the floor for a while etc. He is also enjoying baths much more. It’s like every single thing is just so new to him. He doesn’t need baby toys because there are so many regular things, like cups, paper, water bottles that he hasn’t ever been able to explore before now. It will be nice to get home and try to get into some sort of routine that will hopefully be beneficial for all of us.

On a lighter note, my hair is like Monica’s from “Friends” on the episode where they went to the Bahamas. It just keeps growing and growing…! I think Ashley and I agree we like Ho Chi Minh City better than Hanoi. The people are way friendlier and people there seem happier in general. The weather in Hanoi is overcast and foggy, yet still warm and humid. We have a pool at this hotel, but it’s not warm enough to go swimming. They do have a children’s play room that we have frequented along with another family that’s here.

Well, I think that’s all for now. I’ll try to let you all know how our weekend goes.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terri Anne
    Apr 05, 2008 @ 11:53:01

    So glad you guys are in the final stretch to bringing your boy home!! I’ll be praying for you as you travel with the 2 little ones, and for the bonding process… it is a challenge but you’ll be amazed at how quickly you start to see the positive signs!! My advice (not that you asked for it LOL) too would be to OWN them as signs & not think you’re just imagining things… if that makes sense?

    Reply

  2. Leanne
    Apr 05, 2008 @ 23:33:56

    Hey Char! Guess what…I just got the Shaohannah’s Hope Today magazine and you and your husband are pictured on the cover and again in the magazine (the one in the magazine is a large picture). …You probably already knew this. I ran into the living room shouting “this is Char, this is Char!”

    Thank you for the info in this post…it will be really handy!

    Praying for you all!
    Leanne 🙂

    Reply

  3. Lauren
    Apr 07, 2008 @ 00:15:26

    Thanks for the update. I’ll keep you in my prayers for the flight home and for the bonding process, for sleep, all adjusting and patience. It all sounds very normal to me the things you describe (to be expected), yet I’m sure that doesn’t make it easier as you are experiencing them. Hang in there! Every day things will become more familiar. I have every confidence that you’ll all be more than fine. 🙂
    I love you guys!
    Lauren

    Reply

  4. Joan
    Apr 07, 2008 @ 01:01:06

    Wow, this is all so exciting! I will keep you in my prayers for the flight back. Can’t wait to see you all and finally meet Binh!

    Reply

  5. Leanne
    Apr 19, 2008 @ 13:12:18

    Hey, I tried to look up Orphan’s Ally on line and could not find anything — I would love to order one of those boxes you were talking about. Will you send me info about it? I hope Binh’s appt went well yesterday and that ya’ll all are feeling a lot better.

    Take care,
    Leanne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

