We’re Baaaack!

Just wanted to let everyone know that we made it back (finalmente) to Boston. We’re watching Red Sox TV as we speak. All of our flights were on time, and less a lost stroller (don’t worry, an umbrella stroller, not the Bugaboo. Ok, so I don’t own a Bugaboo..) we’re all intact. We all took a nap when we got home and I’m looking forward to bed time. Jet lag is always harder for me, personally, when coming back from Asia. Thanks to everyone praying for us and wishing us the best. There were a couple of potential glitches while we were traveling that worked out that I thought specifically of all the people praying for us. The kids did great on the flight, keeping in mind they’re babies. They didn’t sit and listen to their ipods for the whole flight or anything, but both were pretty happy for the duration. I wouldn’t have totally hated us if I were in other people’s positions. I was prepared for the worst, but thank God, it was all ok.

Now let’s talk about how no human should EVER take a 17 hour plane flight. I’m not claustrophobic, but I just about have a breakdown on this leg of the flight. It’s just wrong to make like 300 people hang out at 30,000 feet together for that long. Let’s couple this with the fact that we’re all smashed into our little 2×2 seat to sit, eat, sleep, etc. And let’s not get me started on plane bathrooms. Now I hate to be a potty mouth, but we’re all friends here, right? Well, most people get constipated on flights, but NOOoo not me. My body decides this spacious 2×3 bathroom with like 2 droplets of water in the toilet is the PERFECT place for an, um, cleansing..I’ve decided I’m not flying anywhere over 4 hours with my kids until they’re, oh, 30. No wait, they might have kids of their own they want to bring if they’re 30, so let’s go with 20-25.

We all have slight colds right now, but hopefully some rest and routine will put us all on the mend. I don’t have a voice, so I won’t be answering the phone, but Ash will if he’s around. I have my well known (to my family members) sore throat, runny nose, etc. Ava has a cough and runny nose and Binhjamin has just the runny nose. So far, Ash is still holding out on the healthy side, but I’m sure we’ll have him crossed over to the dark side before the weekend is out.

Ok, I’m off to take a shower. I know, I like to shower after a 30 hour trip. Call me crazy.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terri Anne
    Apr 10, 2008 @ 00:36:58

    Yaaayyy!!! Welcome Home!!!! So glad you’re home. It’s a wonderful feeling when that plane touches down on US soil isn’t it??

    I hope you get caught up on your rest, and in a routine very soon, and start feeling better.

    Welcome Home!!!
    -Terri Anne & Madalynn

    Reply

  2. Melinda
    Apr 11, 2008 @ 15:35:03

    How wonderful that you are all home safe and sound. Take care of yourself!

    Reply

  3. Lauren
    Apr 12, 2008 @ 02:52:48

    Hooray! I’ll call once I think the dust has settled, but feel free to call me any time once you get your voice back because I’m looking forward to more scoop.

    Love,
    Stan the exercise man…perhaps we’ve met before….

    Reply

  4. Dawn
    Apr 13, 2008 @ 01:09:26

    CONGRATS and Welcome Home!!

    Reply

  5. Jennifer St. John
    Apr 13, 2008 @ 05:46:31

    Yay! So happy to hear that you all survived your looong flight and are safely home. We are getting some of the runny noses here too, and I’m not so sure about the skin problems. Ugh. Off to the doctor on Monday. The runny nose I can deal with… the other stuff I would like to hear is completely gone. Please keep in touch. I am eager to hear how Binh adjusts to his new home. I wouldn’t be surprised if he doubles in size very quickly. I’m so glad we got to spend some time with you in Vietnam! You have a precious family.

    Love,
    Jennifer

    Reply

Leave a Reply

