Healing

I guess we’re all in the process of healing right now. Binh is not sleeping at night. He wakes up like every hour or so. He has no idea how to put himself back to sleep. It seems like he is used to just having a bottle in the bed all night, which is not kosher with us. It’s not good for his teeth, though he only has two right now, but I just think it’s a bad habit. He’s a year old, so we can’t keep doing the bottle in bed for another year. We’ve tried to switch him to a pacifier, which is going pretty well. I know a lot of his sleep issues are emotional so I don’t want to let him cry at night. This is uncharted territory for me and for him both, so hopefully we can get through it together.

I spent most of the day in the ER yesterday. I started getting sick on the plane ride home. I think I mentioned it maybe in the last post. (which was appearantly TMI for some of you, sorry. That’s me. The biologist in me sees nothing that has to do with the body as forbidden to talk about!) Anyway, I’d been trying to tough it out and act like that I just had a cold, but I hadn’t really eaten anything since we got home on Wednesday and I felt like total poo. By Saturday, I couldn’t take it anymore, so I went to the ER. Turns out I was severely dehydrated and had a raging infection causing bronchitis and gastroenteritis. After three liters of IV fluids, some anti-nausea medication, and a hard hitting antibiotic, I was feeling better.

Hopefully, we’re all on the road to healing. We’d better be, because Ash has to go back to work tomorrow. I have to say it scares the heck out of me. I don’t know how to have two kids yet. I guess we’ll pave the road as we walk it.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mommy
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 19:54:42

    So glad things are going better for all of you. I know I have a tough daughter and she will make it through all this with flying colors. Really good to hear you on the phone with a voice that sounds more like you. I love and pray for you several times during the day and night and know God will provide everything you all need. I know theough what I am experiencing myself that it makes us wonder but we always make it. Miss getting to see you all very much but time will fly and so will I on June the 5th.

    Reply

  2. Ava & Binh's Uncle
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 20:32:25

    You sound great, and I was just joking about the “thank you for flying, The Air Toilet at 30,000 feet Airlines” joke . At your age things like this happen!
    Take care of yourself and get rest, your kids need you.
    Squeeeze and Huggggs to the kids and see ya soon.

    Reply

  3. Leanne
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 13:30:53

    Wow…you poor thing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

