Vietnam, what to say..

So what kind of person would I be if I didn’t even mention the state of affairs with Vietnam adoptions? I’m not going to try to explain everything if you don’t know, but basically it looks like Vietnam will shut down to adoptions to the U.S. come September 1. If you’d like to read the whole, ugly situation, Nicki over at Voices for Vietnam Adoption Integrity has written about it much better than I could.

It makes me sad on so many levels. I feel for all the people, like Michelle and her family, who don’t see how they can complete an adoption by September 1. I’m sad that so much corruption has infiltrated something so beautiful, like adoption. Mostly, I’m sad for all the children in Vietnam who are living, languishing, in orphanages right now and won’t be coming home to warm, loving parents any time soon.

The thing that enters my mind at a time like this is a song that I held on to when I found out my dad had Alzheimer’s and when my mom had cancer a couple of years ago- Blessed Be Your Name

Blessed be your name
In the land that is plentiful
Where the streams of abundance flow
Blessed be your name

Blessed be your name
When I’m found in the desert place
Though I walk through the wilderness
Blessed be your name 

Every blessing you pour out,
I turn back to praise
When the darkness closes in, Lord
Still I will say…
Blessed be the name of the Lord.. 

Blessed be your name
When the sun’s shining down on me
When the world’s all as it should be
Blessed be your name

Blessed be your name
On the road marked with suffering
Though there’s pain in the offering
Blessed be your name..

You give and take away
You give and take away
My heart will choose to say
Lord, Blessed be your name. 

You know, the song doesn’t say when everything is going great I’ll praise you, but lose all faith and try to control things on my own when things are bad. It says my heart will choose to say blessed by your name. We don’t have to run around with rose colored glasses on and not feel any pain. The pain is there, real and raw, and still we have a choice to trust that the God of our good times is still the same, omnipotent God when there are trials in our life as well. 

I look to this song when I’m in my wilderness, and it helps remind me that I don’t have to know everything. I know some of you probably think, “easy for her to say, she has her son home” and I understand what you mean. Just know that I pray for this situation, and miracles do happen.

Oh, sidebar: My mom is healed of cancer and is probably working in the lawn as we speak:)

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 04:33:24

    Thank you!

    Reply

  2. Ava & Binh's Uncle
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 13:53:06

    Our prayers are with Michelle and all the other wonderful parents that are trying to bring home their children from around the world and here in America. It’s sad and unfortunate that politics and greed interfere with the love and improvement of life for so many children. Our prayers for all parents both biological and adoptive.

    And yes Ashley your mother is in the yard working and creating a job list for yours truly!

    See ya soon

    Reply

  3. Terri Anne
    Apr 29, 2008 @ 00:28:34

    Oh Char!! I’m so sorry. Having just barely gotten my daughter home from Guatemala just before they shut down, this just breaks my heart to hear of another country shutting down, and all of those families in process. I’ve always said adoption isn’t a journey for the faint of heart.

    Prayers being said for the future of Vietnam & Guatemala adoptions… may God open the doors.

    Reply

  4. Carissa
    May 01, 2008 @ 03:57:56

    What a wonderful post and I love that song! Song’s have helped me through so much, thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

