Conscience and Conciousness

A few days ago I watched “China’s Stolen Children“, a documentary that will air on HBO in July, I think. It’s on Youtube now, and comes in 9 parts, each one about 9 minutes long. So, it’s not like hours and hours long. I think it’s definitely worth seeing.

I have to say, I came away from watching it feeling very disturbed and sad. With all the accuasations flying in Vietnam, I have felt like a lot of people talk about how terrible the situation is, but don’t really have any insight into how these things start. I mean, if you’re reading this blog right now, chances are you’re not a person who is trying to figure out where you’re going to get enough food to feed your family. This documentary gave me a little insight into 1) how a Communist regime has so much control over the lives of its citizens (like having to have a permit to have a baby or being forced to have an abortion by your government) 2) how desperation and poverty can lead one to make such unthinkable decisions. I have to say I also felt like it demonstrated how clearly this country needs God. It seems to me like a lot of people have no love in their lives, no moral compass. I was moved and disturbed all at once. After seeing this show, I also felt differently about people who abandon their little girls. They almost seem like the “good guys” in China’s whole situation.

I don’t have the answers, but I think I do have a better idea of what is going on other there and in other countries that are in economically similar situations. I understand more of how the selling of human life gets started. Hey, it’s not ok with me by any means, but I do have compassion for some the people who have to make excruciating choices.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carissa
    May 12, 2008 @ 00:33:51

    I cried so hard when I watched that, and I knew about and understood (from experience with asylum petitions for these people) … I wish there were others ways to help but I don’t know what they are.

    Happy Mother’s Day!

    Reply

  2. Leanne
    May 12, 2008 @ 04:03:44

    Just finished number 9. wow. Tears and tears. I was hoping for a happy ending…it is all so sad and terrifying. The hardest part is wanting to help and seeing a problem that is so incredibly big and feeling incredibly small. They need the Word so badly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

