More Fat, Please!

First, I know I didn’t post yesterday, but I was thinking about all you moms out there on Mother’s Day. I especially was thinking of friends who had their first Mother’s Day, like Sarah, Karoliina, and Teri. As you know, last year was my first Mother’s Day. This year, I had two kids for Mother’s Day! This trend must not continue..!

Anyway, I wanted to post a quick story about Binhjamin and his trip to the international adoption doctor. Everything went great. They said he was coming right along and was very smart (as if there was doubt about that:)) The doctor’s main concern was his weight. She said he has no fat on his body, and did the measurement to prove it. You know that clamp thing they put on the back of your arm by your triceps? Well, it went like all the way together. Poor little guy. I told her I feel like we’re poking food in him all the time. She said he was probably expending 2-3 times the amount of calories that he was in the orphanage because he is very active now. See, now I hadn’t really thought about that.. Anyway, she said he needed dense fats like oil, butter, mayo. etc. She said think density, not necessarily volume. So I made my way to the grocery to shop for fat. I have to say, it was the first time I have ever stood in the aisle reading labels searching for the highest fat content. I was like, (in my head, of course. I’m not a total lunatic, yet anyway) “hmm. this butter has 7 grams of fat. Oh wait, this one has 11 grams of fat- I’ll take this one”. Maybe people thought I was training to become a sumo wrestler!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. carissa
    May 12, 2008 @ 16:07:46

    Haha! That is pretty funny! I have a friend whose doctor told her the same thing! Good luck with the bulk up 🙂

    Reply

  2. Terri Anne
    May 13, 2008 @ 00:27:28

    Awww… thanks Char… I feel so honored to be mentioned on your blog!! My first mother’s day was amazing!!!

    How fun to shop for high fat!!! How about ice cream?? Can he have that yet?? 😀
    -Terri Anne

    Reply

  3. Lori
    May 13, 2008 @ 13:50:14

    That is so unfair! I want to shop for high fat food!
    Congratulations on your first Mother’s Day as a double mom.
    My beagles gave me a card (with a little help from my friend Christina).

    Reply

  4. Ava & Binh's Uncle
    May 13, 2008 @ 18:46:03

    Man, I know what little Binh is going thru, I’m constantly eating high fats and sugar filled foods and I just don’t seem to gain a pound…and then I wake up! He’ll be fine, after all we put weight on everybody in our family… not mentioning any names.

    Love Ya

    Reply

Leave a Reply

