Ava’s birthday

I told you I’d recap my 5 points of interest at a later date. Well, I chose to write about Ava’s birthday first. I can’t believe my baby is two years old. Now I know that’s not really a huge milestone, not like your baby turning 16 or 21 or something. It’s just so weird to think about that just two years ago a nurse was handing her to me and shoving me off into motherdom. Now, she talking in like sentences you can understand, she tries to be funny and then says, “Ava’s being funny”. She really has a lot going on upstairs. I can’t say she is the most adept at the physical stuff. She can climb up the ladder to her new swing and go down the slide and stay on the “big kid” swing at the park, but I’d say she’s MUCH more verbal than physical. That’s why the dance classes should be interesting. I mean, the poor kid can trip and fall on an air current. At least afterward she can say, “Oh no. I fell. I’m angry and sad. Kiss my boo-boo and make it better.”!

This is a funny story. The other day Ava came to me and said, “I have two butts.” I was like, “What?” So she said it again. “I have two butts, Mommy.” Well I looked and her diaper was forming a wedgie that was cutting into a butt cheek. So, I guess it felt like she had two butts after all! That’s the kind of stuff she comes up with on her own.

Ash was gone for her birthday. So I have a picture of her telling her dad on the phone that she’s two and gets to have a party with hats and cupcakes. We had a small gathering with a couple of people we’ve met since we moved here, and thank God my family was in town for the occasion. It was a fun time for us all.

 

Here’s Binhjamin trying to contain his excitement at his sister turning two:

 

Ava enjoying her cupcake:

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 12:31:32

    Look at these two kids…and people wonder if there’s a God. Who else could create such pretty babies (oh, I’m sorry Ava, you are two now) Young lady!

    Reply

  2. sarah
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 17:18:21

    I love the pictures. And of course the stories that go with them. Oh Ava, I remember when “aaaaaaapppppppaaaaaaaaaaa” was a big word!

    Reply

  3. Leanne
    Aug 18, 2008 @ 12:24:16

    She is so adorable! Look how sweet and grown up she looks on the cell phone! I love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

