Binh’s First Haircut

While my family was here visiting, I decided it was time for Binh to get a “big boy” haircut. It was looking kinda’ shaggy, but the main thing is that he seemed so hot all the time.

When we were in Vietnam, people said he would be cold in the air conditioning because he was used to living in the heat. The orphanage had no air conditioning, and it’s really hot and humid in Vung Tau most of the time. Well, I don’t think that assumption could be farther from the reality of how hot this kid is all the time. After we moved to LA, I felt sorry for how much our little guy sweated all the time. We would just take a short trip in the car and the back of his shirt and hair would be wet. When he woke up from naps, his hair would be absolutely crazy because it was all bent from sweating and then laying on it. So, I thought cutting it all off would help.

I took him to a place that just does kid’s cuts. They have an area where little girls could have like birthday parities and get all sorts of girly stuff. I have to say, it looked like fun. The chairs were different cars, and Ava and Tutu had fun in a red corvette while Binh got his hair cut in a yellow Hummer. He didn’t cry or freak out in any way. He just kinda’ rolled with it. There were a couple of points where he shyed away with the lady when she was trying to shape up the sides and back with a small clipper, but for the most part he just played with a big brush used to wipe hair off the back of his neck. Afterward, both he and Ava got a Dum Dum lollipop. I am pretty sure that was the highlight of their entire week. Ava said she wanted to get a haircut. She just wanted another lollipop! I do think the next time I take Binh to get his hair cut, I am going to have them do something with Ava’s hair. Her mullet is getting a little out of control.

Here is Binh’s “before”:

 

This is “during”. That’s Tutu looking on in the background. Is that a look of approval?

 

And here is “after”. They have a lot of gunk in it. I have to say, I like it better the way I do it, with just the top sticking up a little, but I think all he cares about is the lollipop at this point.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 16:19:55

    Binh, I just cut my hair and it looks just like yours. My goodness could we get any more studly!

    Nice bike Ash!

    Reply

  2. sarah
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 17:17:50

    HOW ADORABLE!!!!!!!!!!! He is so stinkin’ cute! Hey – I would almost get my hair cut there if they offered the dum-dum to me!

    Reply

  3. craftymommy
    Aug 17, 2008 @ 04:33:41

    How cute! The cut really shows off his adorable face. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Mommy
    Aug 18, 2008 @ 00:50:10

    I must say, I like Binh’s hair the way you do it too. I DO approve. He looked like a real boy with his haircut.

    Reply

  5. Christina
    Aug 18, 2008 @ 01:44:02

    He looks adorable! Zeeb’s head sweats ALL the time, especially when he sleeps, no matter how hot or cool it is… crazy!

    Reply

  6. Leanne
    Aug 18, 2008 @ 12:23:06

    SO cute! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

