Dance Class

Ava had her first dance class this week. She was really excited and even cried at lunch time because it wasn’t time to go yet.  She is only two, yet she has a dress code for class that includes a certain color of tights, ballets shoes, a leotard, and dance skirt. I have to say, all the girls looked pretty cute even if I spent more on her tights than I spend on nylons for myself.

We went into the studio and it was brimming over with little girls and their moms. Some dads were there, including Ash, who went to support me as much as Ava, I think. This scene was pretty comical, as their were all sorts of people buzzing around the place, older girls greeting on another, little girls crying because they were scared, moms busy trying to stay composed, etc.

Needless to say, Ava was a little overwhelmed when we first entered:

She got into the rhythm quickly and was excited again while we waited. Then, they called the two year olds and all the moms took the girls into the class. They had them all sit in seats while they passed out name tags. Ava had a hard time staying seated. She kept saying things like, “Dance Class!” and “Where’d daddy go?” She also tried talking to some of the other little girls, but they didn’t respond.

 

 

After they got the name tags, they made all the mommies leave. We went to sit in the lobby area of the studio. I’m sure there were more people there than usual, so I ended up sitting in a little area off to one side where the moms of the three year olds were chatting. It was funny listening to all them chat about their trips to Disney World, how their daughters “did a gymnastics class” over the summer and about soccer starting in October. Mind you, these moms were talking about the three, 3, three year olds they had. Dance, gymnastics, and soccer?- at three? Sheesh, give your toddler a break.

After the class, the little girls came pouring out, holding lollipops. Ava seemed to have done fine. They have a window, but it’s only open for viewing the last week of each month. So I had to ask Ava what they did in class, which was a little hit or miss on getting any answers. She said they sang “Itsy Bitsy Spider” and went down the slide. Later when I was cuddling with her before she went to bed, she told me she cried at dance class. I guess she cried when I left, but I told her I was waiting right outside and would always be there waiting for her. It must not have been that bad because she has already asked to go back.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mommy
    Aug 23, 2008 @ 20:09:53

    I came right in when I heard there were pictures of Ava in her dance outfit. Now I’m not a lot into the dancing but love outfits of any kind. Of course, she was the most beautiful girl there. Of course, I remember taking her Mama to dance class and would you believe she was the most beautiful girl there also?

    Reply

  2. sarah
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 13:02:17

    I loved this post! She looked so cute! I love her leotard with the little something extra up top. too cute! I can only imagine that it is hard doing something like this. But I am happy that she liked it so much!

    Reply

  3. Terri Anne
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 00:43:03

    Awww…. !!! Love the pictures she looks very sweet.

    I’m also excited to learn Madalynn can start dance class in a year!!

    Reply

  4. leanne
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 01:33:05

    Oh my goodness!! She is SO cute! I love it!!

    Reply

  5. Meredith
    Aug 29, 2008 @ 01:26:28

    Very cute Ava! Love the pig tails. But I think I had the same leotard-tu tu combo as the girl on the left when I was about 5. Don’t these outfits evolve at all?!?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

