Looming Deadline

I just have to take a moment and recognize that Monday is September 1st. No Frap, you say. I can look at a calendar and know that. But, with a son whose birth country is Vietnam and to the Vietnamese adoption community, we know September 1st as something very different than just another Labor Day this year. September 1st is the close down date for Vietnam adoptions.

I’m thinking about all the people who have been in process with their adoptions whose dreams of bringing their child home will end on Monday. I’m thinking of children living in orphanages who have been matched with families but whose prospective family hasn’t received their official letter from the DIA and those who have yet to be matched with a family- neither group will be coming home to the best nation on earth, the USA. I am so sorry.

I am so thankful to have Binhjamin home. He’s asleep right now and I know in a couple of hours he’ll be pulling at the refrigerator door doing a half grunt/half scream for lunch. It drives me crazy; oh how it drives me crazy. Thank God I have the opportunity for that to drive me crazy, along with all the other things he does. Things he couldn’t do 4 months ago because he’d never been out of a crib long enough to try to learn.  I feel sad about this close down because a little part of me had hoped we would go back to Vietnam and adopt again. I had hoped (secretly) that Binh would have an Asian brother to connect with and that they could relate to each other and the reality of being an Asian adoptee in America. I don’t know whether that will happen or not.

I just wanted to take a moment, amid this holiday weekend for most (we’re watching Gustav at this point, so we don’t have any festivities planned) to acknowledge this looming deadline.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    Aug 29, 2008 @ 21:04:36

    It’s sad to see that politics and red tape play a blocking role in improving the lives of not only kids in other nations but also in this country. Thank goodness there are people like you sis that has taken that step of improving a life, and hopefully, with prayers, those adoption opportunities will open again soon for other children. Hug those two for me and feel great that you gave Binh a chance he might not have gotten.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

