Pot Stirring and POWs

I’m not a really political person. I mean, I vote every time the polls (I almost wrote “pools”!) are open, and I try to keep myself abreast of the issues. I don’t, however, shout from the roof tops all my opinions or for whom I’m voting, necessarily. Though, if you know me, you probably know for whom I’m voting most of the time. My mom and dad sat on different sides of the political fence, so to speak. So I heard the pros and cons of both parties. Let’s say we had “lively” dinner conversation at times at my house!

I say these things above so you’ll know I’m not trying to “stir the pot” here on my blog. Really, I’m not. It doesn’t really matter to me which candidate you like. I know I’m not going to sway you one way or another with my words, anyway. I don’t want to, in fact. I think everyone should vote according to their convictions.

I just have to speak about John McCain’s experience as a POW. I tuned into the Rep. Convention last night at the time Fred Thompson was giving his speech. I knew John McCain had been a POW, but I guess I never really thought about what that meant. After listening to the story of McCain’s life for those 5 years, I felt like a naive little girl. I mean, you (by you, I mean me) just don’t think there are people out there that have endured stuff like what Thompson described. I think of stuff like that happening only a long time ago. Those people aren’t still alive today, right?..

I guess I’ve been living in my own little ignorant, blissful state with butterflies and rainbows or something. Whether you vote for McCain or not, I think the fact that he went through 5 years of hell and is still a normal (as normal as politicians are) human being is something to be applauded. And I think his actions for all those years leave no doubt that he truly loves America. I’m pretty sure I would have broken way earlier and spilled my beans about what I knew. Pretty shameful on my part-and I think I love America.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarah
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 20:55:37

    AMEN!

    Reply

  2. asmalltowndad
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 12:20:25

    I don’t agree with some of his policies, but I think no one can question his patriotism , leadership and the love for our Country.

    Reply

  3. Christine Berdoulay
    Sep 07, 2008 @ 01:47:27

    Ok, stir the pot I will. Why did he choose a woman as a running mate? To balance the fact the other party is African American? McCain certainly seems like he could be a great leader, but his choice ..hmmmm. Believe me I am all for woman power, but one has to wonder …I know I know…..send the hate mail..,..just had to get it going

    Reply

  4. Christine Berdoulay
    Sep 07, 2008 @ 01:53:58

    So now that you have read that….please email mail. I sent you something the other day and it returned it to me…did you get a new addresss? Somethings I want to tell you maybe I don’t want everyone to read…so email me huh? By the way, love the pictures of the kids they are getting so big, so cute, so sweet. We MISS YOU terribly!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

