The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face

Today is September 12, marking the one year anniversary of the day were got our referral for Binhjamin. Our dossier was received just in August, so we had no idea we’d get a referral so quickly. Our agency told us we were #12 on the infamous list,so I felt it was pretty safe to take a little vacation, of sorts, to visit some of Ash’s family in Arkansas. I noticed I had a missed call as soon as we got off the plane. I thought that was a little strange since everyone knew we were going to be flying that morning. Well, I didn’t think much about it and went ahead and met Ash’s family in baggage claim, got our stuff, loaded up the car, etc. and got on our way to the boonies. See, Ash’s family is spread out in a few small, and when I say small I mean small towns in Arkansas. So, it’s a couple hours of driving from any airport to his families’ houses. So we’re in the car and I decided to check my voice mail. It was our agency telling me to call them. I figured there was a glitch or something in our paperwork in Vietnam or something like that. Oh, they had called twice by this time and so I thought I shouldn’t put off calling them back. I called but reception was really bad because we were out in the-middle-of-nowhere Arkansas. God loved me that day (as if He doesn’t love me others..) so I heard the part when she said that everyone ahead of us wanted a girl and we requested a boy so we had a referral! Then the line cut out!! I was in the backseat with Ava freaking out, so Ash pulled the car over and I called back. She told me all about him, as much as she knew, and we made arrangements for Fed Ex to ship the info packet to his family’s house. She said she would email the same stuff so we could see his picture right away.

Well, did I mention Ash’s family lives in the boonies? They didn’t have the internet or a computer!! Ash and I dropped our stuff off at the house and headed for the nearest library. We had to see this baby! The library was about as big as my house, maybe not even that big, and it had 3 computers. The printers didn’t print color, but we were able to see the first pictures of Binh. Ash and I just kept saying, “that’s our son…we have a son…” I contacted my pediatrician and sent her info. and we got the Fed Ex package a couple days later. It was really trying doing all that stuff away from home, but it’s certainly memorable and a story I’m sure Binh will hear again and again.

I thank God for this day, and for you, Binh.

Official Referral picture:

After being home 1 month:

My boy now..

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elaine
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 18:56:56

    Happy referral day! What a fun story. I mean, probably not fun at the time, but fun to tell now.

    Reply

  2. leanne
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 20:30:13

    What a great story!! What a sweet, sweet boy!

    Reply

  3. Christina
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 20:43:03

    awwww, happy referral-a-versary!! What a great story.
    ps… now I have that song in my head too. 😉

    Reply

  4. asmalltowndad
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 21:21:05

    What a great beginning, of a wonderful life. You should keep notes or a journal and someday write a book to help others, and tell Binh’s story. Just don’t leave out his Uncle!

    Reply

  5. Terri Anne
    Sep 14, 2008 @ 00:12:07

    Happy referralversary!!! It’s such a special day isn’t it??

    Reply

  6. Meredith
    Sep 14, 2008 @ 18:19:41

    And who says you aren’t a little sentimental sometimes…. 🙂 Praise God for your beautiful family!

    I really appreciated your post Char. I miss you guys a lot. I wish you could just stop by and play! Luke talked about Ava 3 week last week when we drove by your house.

    Reply

  7. Jeff
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 03:24:29

    That’s cool to see how everything worked out. Great story

    Reply

Leave a Reply

