Not So Big News

Last week was Binh’s first doctor’s appointment in our new city. Let me just say I miss my Boston doctors. The people here are extremely nice, and maybe I’m just being snooty- I don’t know, but I feel like our doctors in Boston were just, well, better. To our doctor’s credit (the one here in LA), she did start setting up referrals to other doctors like an international adoption doctor and a nutritionist.

We were really making a push toward trying to get Binh up to 20 pounds before his appointment. The week before I had Ava at the doctor and there was a scale in the room where we were waiting. They both got on it at separate times just playing, and at that time I read Binh’s weight to be 19 pounds. I told Ash about this when we got home, and he was like, “ok, I really think we can to get him to twenty before next week. It’s time we focus.” This was all a joke but we kept it up all week. Ash would say, “add a little more butter, hon. I think we need full court press toward 20 here..” and stuff like that.

Well, at the doctor’s office on Wednesday, Binh was 19.2lbs. and 29in. tall. Let’s just say we well, fell a little short(and light) of our goal. Hey the kid made a valiant effort, though, and that’s all we can do. This child eats like a horse, to the point that I don’t really know where it all goes or how his tiny stomache even holds all the food he eats. He easily eats more than Ava, and often I feel like he’s keeping up with me at dinner time! He is closer to being on the growth charts, so that’s encouraging. I looked up the Vietnamese growth chart, and he’s at the very bottom- but, hey, on it. So that means there are other kids his size there.

Well, even though we may not be raising a line backer for the Patriots, Manolo Blahnik and Jimmy Choo better watch out. Binh’s obsession with shoes doesn’t seem to be waining. He and Ava got in a fight this morning over who was going to wear a certain pair of shoes around the house. (They were Ava’s) There’s no telling whose shoes he may walk out in at any given time. And don’t even think about leaving access to the closet. He’ll have like every pair of shoes out of there in a matter of minutes. Here he is after church, in Ash’s shoes..

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarah
    Sep 22, 2008 @ 19:54:40

    this is too cute! he looks so proud and happy with himself! It was really nice seeing you and the family Saturday night!

    Reply

  2. Karoliina
    Sep 22, 2008 @ 22:01:19

    Oh the wonderful world of trying to get your child to gain weight. I remember the butter! Tinsae was 17 pounds at 18 months (when we met her last October) and then went on to loose some of it because she was having diarrhea “for the first time ever”.

    As I’m typing this she is wearing a size 5T shirt and drumming. My neighbor told me today that kids grow to be twice as tall as they are at two. That would mean Tinsae will easily hit the 6 ft mark – without high heals. I used to wonder where all the food was going too. Now I know.

    Reply

  3. lrjenkins
    Sep 23, 2008 @ 22:50:48

    “add a little more butter, hon. I think we need full court press toward 20 here..”

    Zach and I both laughed-out-loud at this… 🙂 too funny!

    Reply

  4. Christina
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 01:47:15

    Our daughter R (who is Cambodian) didn’t hit 20# until she was like almost 2,I think. I seriously thought she’d be facing backward in that carseat forever. She’s still much smaller than the average kid her age and never seems to put on an ounce no matter how much she eats. I blame it on the fact that she never had any baby fat to speak of, but who knows, maybe she just has incredible metabolism or something… And our new neighbors (who are Vietnamese) have a daughter her age who is actually smaller than her, so that makes me feel better too. 🙂

    Reply

  5. small town dad
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 13:45:38

    I remember when Taylor was barely on the chart for so many years, and now look at her, she’s grown into a wonderful little lady. With Binh’s strength and energy, I wouldn’t worry about it. The boy could power lift almost anything, and like all other men, the weight will come adventually (right Ash). Great picture, Binh doe’s have a lot to go to fill the shoes of his dad in more ways than just physically, but I have no doubt he will.

    Reply

  6. Mah-chew
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 17:57:30

    Yes, you’re being snooty. Be thankful you’re back in the south – LOL.

    Reply

  7. goodhappenings
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 18:21:07

    That’s adorable!!
    I’ve got a bunch of lightweights here too. I just tell people (and our family doc), “hey, someone’s gotta make up the 5 percentile, right?!” Ours make the oger children look “normal,” right? haha.

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Binh’s Antics « Metaphase

Leave a Reply

