OK, Now I’m Beyond Exhausted

I’ve been watching the play offs and it’s catching up to me. I have to watch it, though, because my beloved Red Sox are in it. They are playing Los Angeles and the first two games were in LA. (And no. This time I don’t mean Lower Alabama!) The games came on here at about 9:00pm because of the time difference. Well, if you know the Sox you know they like to work the pitch count, which means their games always seem to last at least 3-4 hours. This is great if you’ve paid a lot of money for a game at Fenway. I feel like I’m getting my money’s worth, then. It isn’t as great if you are staying up till 1am then getting up with two energetic toddlers at 6am. At least they won both games in LA.

Last night they were back at grand Fenway Park. I was ready for them to sweep and move on to the winner of Chicago/Tampa Bay. The game was supposed to start at 6:05pm CST. I thought it would be perfect because the game would be over at most by 10pm. Well, it didn’t start until about 6:30- and it went 12 innings! Though I don’t mind watching Jacoby Ellsbury for that long, I was still up until 12:30 am! It was a game that lasted over 5 hours! I thought of a time a couple of years ago that the Sox were playing the White Sox, I think, and that game lasted like 21 innings! I just kept telling Ash that we have watched the equivalent of 2.5 games for that one. By the end, I didn’t even care if Boston lost, I just wanted it to be over!!

I still wanted Boston to win last night, but they lost 5-4. Tonight they’re back at Fenway and I just know they’re gonna’ pull it off. Pray for long naps for the kids today. I’m going to need the rest if I plan to make it through tonight.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. leanne
    Oct 07, 2008 @ 16:02:08

    I feel your pain! It has been some late nights here too!! We are “thinking” about trying to get down to Tampa for a game…we’ll see 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

