I Missed It

We had plans this weekend to go to a little town about an hour from here that was having a  shin-dig that included crafts, food, and PONY RIDES. Ash knows the lady that owns the ponies and she told us to come on over and have some fun. I was really looking forward to this because I’m pretty sure I love ponies more than either the kids or Ash.

Well, Friday both Ava and I somehow stepped in an ant pile. I noticed them on me because the first one bit me. I looked down and saw they were starting to cover Ava’s sandals. I snatched her up and ripped her shoes off. I started frantacally slapping at her feet. I’m pretty sure she thought mom had lost her mind, but I told her she had ants on her feet and I had to get them off. Well, in the meantime, I’m of course becoming a buffet for the fire ants on my own feet. I ended up with about 25 bites, or stings, or whatever they are. They hurt/burn/itch all at the same time. Fortunately, Ava didn’t get any bites.

It seems I’m becoming more and more allergic to ant bites. My legs were aching and and I had a terrible headache by that night. The next morning I was nauseous my head hurt so bad and I generally felt like crap. So, I stayed home and Ash took the kids to the festival. What a trooper, that guy. So head on over to his site and take a look at my beautiful kids on their first pony ride, mom not included.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elaine
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 15:18:03

    Yuck! I hope you’re feeling better now. I had a similar experience a couple of summers ago with Tank Boy and some angry bees. Not fun, but worth saving the kiddos.

    Reply

  2. Christina
    Oct 09, 2008 @ 00:32:47

    Ack! That sounds like something out of a horror flick! You poor thing, no fair having to miss the kids first pony ride. 😦

    Reply

  3. Terri Anne
    Oct 09, 2008 @ 00:46:55

    That’s such a bummer…. how awful!! Hope you’re feeling better now.

    Reply

  4. leanne
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 03:06:09

    So sorry! That stinks pretty bad! The video’s are adorable! I just love your kids 🙂

    About the sushi outfit…you know, the sushi material is either gender…I think I need to make matching ones for Ava and Binh 🙂 I am in the process of making matching cowgirl and cowboy ones — I will have to post pictures, they are turning out adorable (the fabric is just too cute!).

    What do you say about getting together this weekend? How is y’all’s weekend looking?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

