I Gave It a Try

This year I had what I thought was a great idea for what the kids should be for Halloween. They love love love Veggie Tales. They watch a video of 30min. almost every night while I’m making dinner. Ash has a video of his site of them singing the theme song in case you missed it the first time or doubt their infatuation with these little vegetables who sing, dance, and tell stories about morals and values. Because they both like the show so much, I thought it would be fun if they were “Larry” and “Bob” from Veggie Tales. These guys are the main characters, shown in every episode.

There were Larry and Bob costumes sold online but they came in a 2T-4T as their smallest size. This would work ok for Ava as Larry, but there is no way in the world Binhjamin could wear a 2-4T. He is doing well to fit into 9 months at this point. This is where things get interesting. I thought I had someone to make a tomato (that’s what Bob is, a tomato) costume, but she flaked out at the last minute. By last minute, I mean about 10 days before Halloween. So, the Sunday before Halloween, I decided I couldn’t depend on anyone but myself and I went out and bought the stuff to sew a costume on my own.

Let me give you a little background on my sewing experience. After college graduation in 2003, I got a sewing machine as a graduation gift. I thought it might be a fun little hobby to take on. I made an elastic dog collar before I put the machine away, never to be taken out again until this endeavor five years later. Yeah, so I basically have NO experience whatsoever.

I went into the store to get the pattern and material. I told the lady I what I wanted to make and she told me to pick out a pattern. I didn’t even know how to find a pattern! I had originally given the flaky lady a picture of a baby in a pumpkin, so I thought a pumpkin pattern would work as a tomato, given I just buy red fabric. I found one I thought would work and went back up to the sales lady. I had to tell her I had no clue how much fabric I needed or even how to read the pattern to find out. She was nice and got all the stuff for me. Then, I went home and got to work.

After three moves since I got the sewing machine in 2003, I no longer have the machine’s manual. I did have a little video that showed me how to thread the machine and bobbin, at least. Well, I got through it and on Thursday, my friend came over to help me put in the elastic and make the hat. I think it turned out really well:

 

 

 The kids had a blast on Halloween. Ok, except the part where Ava was so worked up about going to the church for fun and games that she threw up in the car/all over her shirt on the way to the shin dig. We had to run and get her a cheap sweatshirt to wear under her costume instead of the black T-shirt she originally had on. What do you think? Any resemblance here?

                        

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is another of “Bob”. You can check out Ash’s site to see more photos of both kids and about our pumkin carving.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 19:01:00

    I’m impressed, girlie! Your lack of sewing expertise rivals mine, yet I know I couldn’t whip up costumes that look like that! Good job!

    Reply

  2. sarah
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 20:07:08

    I am REALLY impressed! His costume looks like a life long pro did it! Bravo!

    I love their costumes. I bet they had a great time.

    Reply

  3. leanne
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 23:36:30

    By far the cutest tomato and cucumber I’ve EVER ssen :)!!!

    You did great Char 🙂

    Reply

  4. Terri Anne
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 01:16:12

    Awww…. soooo cute!!! How adorable. I’m very impressed with the tomato costume.

    Reply

  5. Christina
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 15:18:34

    WoW!! That came out great! Waaaaaay better than I could have done. (I am also rather sewing-challenged). Your kids make great vegetables!

    Reply

  6. Elaine
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 19:21:25

    Oh my word how freaking adorable! Though I must admit, when I first scrolled down to the first picture I thought it had turned out waaaaayyyy to big and there was a kid in there somewhere that we just couldn’t see.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

