Crossover Day

Well, November 8th was my birthday. Yes, happy birthday to me. I had the distinct joy of doing math for 8 hours in my GRE prep class today. Whoopee. I know you all are jealous. I did go to lunch with a few of the ladies in the class, so that was a nice break. When I got home, Ava was really excited about giving me the card she had picked out. Of course, a pink cupcake adorned the front of the card. How very Ava of her. We went out to dinner and had a low-key evening.

Another important event on this date is that it was Binh’s crossover day. He has now been in our home longer than he was in the orphanage. What a wonderful feeling. It’s like everyday from now on is icing on the cake. We have more influence on him now than that place did. I don’t know if that’s a selfish way of looking at it. I hope not. If you do the math on his age, you’ll know that he didn’t come to the orphanage then, as a new infant. I am so thankful for that. I feel like him having some time with *someone* those first few months have made our progress with him so much easier. He has never had a problem with eye contact, being held, or showing affection. In fact, he’s become quite the kisser! At least now he’s past those slobbery kisses babies first do when they just learn to “kiss” (it’s really just leaning toward you with an open mouth, isn’t it?). I’m not deluding myself into thinking everything is sunshine and roses from here on out; I am just thankful that things are easy as far as his bonding to us. I know I’m thoroughly bonded to him! Love you, big guy!

Sidebar: Laurie suggested a “big word of the day” so that you all could learn some of the words I’m learning in preparation for the GRE. I will post one with each post instead of everyday. It may be somewhat obscure but one you’ve heard of, or maybe something completely out of left field. Here’s the first one:

SPLENETIC: irritable, peevish  

Easy enough, right? Let’s try to weave that one into our conversation somewhere in the next few days!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. craftymommy
    Nov 09, 2008 @ 03:50:32

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

    Reply

  2. Laurie
    Nov 09, 2008 @ 13:41:55

    Happy birthday! Love the word of the day, that’s so fun. Now reading your blog is enjoyable AND it makes me smarter;)

    Reply

  3. Karoliina
    Nov 09, 2008 @ 15:56:15

    Happy birthday!

    Reply

  4. Elaine
    Nov 09, 2008 @ 22:59:59

    Hsappy birthday! Splenetic — with five kids I should be able to figure out a way to use that one often. Because, you know, kids seem to have a habit of being splenetic. Not moms of course. No, never, not moms . . .

    Reply

  5. leanne
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 04:02:57

    Awww man…I meant to call you!! Happy Birthday Char!!! So thankful to have you as a bud! 🙂

    Let’s get together soon…I made some sushi pants yesterday and thought of your sweet little ones :)!

    Reply

  6. Terri Anne
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 10:51:40

    Happy Birthday Char!!! Congrats on crossover day…. it’s a great feeling!!

    I’m sure I can use that word at work…no problem….

    Reply

  7. sarah
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 20:54:08

    Well, now I can mark it on the calendar. M never knows dates!!!!!!!

    Happy Birthday! (Late)

    My “Aunt” is about to visit and I am VERY splenetic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

