Do The Doo

If you’re a parent or work in the medical care industry, then by all means keep on reading. Otherwise, this post may be a bit too much information for you because it’s, well..about poop. Don’t worry, it’s isn’t all that graphic. I’m just having trouble getting Ava to go poo in the potty. Let me take you back about a week…

A week or so ago, I decided to give potty training a try with Ava. She had shown some interest a couple months ago, then suddenly said she didn’t want go to the potty. She wanted a diaper on and when I’d ask her about going potty she’d say “No, thanks, I want a diaper.” This was fine because I didn’t want to push her and make her hate the idea or using the potty. So, I waited. The child isn’t yet 2 and a half, so I wasn’t very worried. During this time, when she’d need to go poop, she’d go hide- behind the couch and in her bedroom behind the rocking chair were her two favorite spots. Then, a few weeks ago, when she needed to “do the doo (doo)” she’d announce “I need go hide.” She said this in a restaurant and I got up and took her into the ladies’ bathroom where she hid behind a stall door. I asked her then if she wanted to try to go in the potty and her answer was, “No, I’m hiding.” Then, last Saturday (not just 3 days ago but the one before that) I asked her if she wanted to wear panties. She said yes and so I put her in the cotton training pants that Gerber makes. She had a few accidents (pee-pee) that day, but wasn’t too bad over all.

Fast forward to this week. The gal is going pee-pee in the potty like a champ. She hasn’t had any accidents in days. I put her in a Pull-Up for nap time and she’s dry when she wakes. I put her in a diaper over night and this morning even it was dry. Great job, Ava. You’re potty trained, right? Wrong. My daughter refuses to poop in the potty. She will hold it until she can get a diaper and go hide. She told me one evening that she wanted to wear a diaper. I asked her to go poop in the potty and you’d have though I was pulling out her toe nails. I mean she really gets upset. She won’t talk about it and she doesn’t want you to mention it. The level of her anger/anxiety/ or whatever it is doesn’t really fit the situation, in my opinion. Then again, two-year-old tantrums rarely do, I guess.

So, I don’t know what to do. I’ve tried getting her to go on the “big potty”. She have no problem going pee-pee on it, even in a public restroom, but no dice on the poo. I empty her dirty diaper in the toilet and say, “Poop goes in the potty” or something like that. I don’t want her to hold it until she has a problem, so for now I’m giving her the diaper. Today we had a small breakthrough when she told me she needed to poop and I asked her if she could go poop in the bathroom in her diaper. She said, “OK” and went and stood by the toilet and went in her diaper. Then she came to me to change it for her.

Any suggestions here? I feel like if she could do it once and see it’s not that big of a deal then she’d be ok.

And no, this isn’t my kid. I wouldn’t put a picture of her on the toilet on the internet…

potty-training1

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 22:09:22

    Sounds like you might have to resort to bribery. Have you tried a potty treat? We used M&M’s. Every time they went on the potty they got one of those small bags of M&M’s. Since poop is your problem I would use it for ONLY to reward her for pooping the potty.

    Best of Luck,
    Heather AP to Meliah and Khai 19 months from Lang son,Vietnam (Not looking forward to potty training two at the same time)

    Reply

  2. Samantha
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 21:02:31

    I was going to suggest the same thing. A treat for only when she goes poop in the potty…it sometimes work and sometimes doesn’t! Also you can try since she likes going and hiding having her go in the bathroom by herself and sitting on the potty when she has to go so she has her privacy and telling her to holler if she needs helps.
    She will come around…It takes some times…She will eventually learn that its much easier!

    Reply

  3. asmalltowndad
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 17:43:15

    I think a lot of it is the new position for which they have to get used to. If you think about it, all their lives (2 whole years) they have stood or squatted to make a bowel movement. Very seldom do you see a child that’s able to stand, sit flat on the floor and poop. I also think there is a certain amount of fear when using a toilet seat that has a whole in it that could swallow them in, and they know it. These kids are brilliant, I know because they have a great Uncle (me), and it will soon click in her mind that it’s o.k. to poop in the potty. They only other thing to hurry up the process that I know is bribery (mentioned above) and floating targets (cheerios or animal crackers) see how many she can sink. Gross, I know, but has worked on other kids.

    Oh, by the way, I have never used the poop so many times in my life!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

