Halleluiah Chorus

I’m going to act like it’s perfectly normal that I haven’t blogged in over a week. I won’t even mention the blog funk I’ve been in. My life is good,  just busy getting ready for Christmas, and nothing seems worth blogging about. But we won’t talk about that. No, today we will talk about the Halleluiah Chorus.

*****************************************************************

Since I’m a choir geek lover of fine music, I happen to have the Halleluiah Chorus on a CD with some other Christmas music. I don’t know why, but my kids love the song. OK, a close second for Ava is Mariah Carey’s Santa Claus is Coming to Town, but the Hallehuiah Chorus wins out almost all the time. When we get in the car, she says, “I wanna hear Halleluiah”.  Then she proceeds to sing all the “halleluiahs” along with the song. It is really cute, I hafta’ say. Binh joins in with his singing sometimes, but always claps at the end. Let’s just say maybe he should stick to clapping. If you’ve ever heard him “sing”, you know what I mean. It’s actually just really loud “aaaaahhhh!”s. God bless him, at least he can dance..

Anyway, our church did their choral Christmas thing on Sunday morning. The kids went to the nursery and we went to enjoy the music in the sanctuary. When I looked at the program and saw the Halleluiah Chorus was coming up, I told Ash I’d love for Ava to get to hear the choir and orchestra do the song. He went to the nursery and got the kids. They walked in just before the first strings started. When just a couple of notes had been played I asked Ava if she knew what the song was. Her face lit up and she said, “Halleluiah Chorus!!“. People around us heard her and laughed. As you know, everyone stands for this song at church, so I stood holding her (and singing the alto..) and she sang along with a huge smile. We may have another choir geek lover of fine music on our hands.

***********************************************************************

We were listening to some Christmas music in the car the other day (see above!) and Ash asked me a question out of the blue..

Ash: What does tencraneth mean?

me: huh?

Ash: Tencraneth. What is that?

me: What on earth are you talking about?

Ash: In the Halleluiah Chorus, they say tencraneth.

me: No, it’s “The Lord God omnipotent reineth.” Then my laughing ensues.

Ash: I thought it was just another word I didn’t know the meaning to.

me: A church-y word like royal diadem?

So, at church when the Chorus was sung, I of course sang out “Tencraneth!”

****************************************************************

I have a very close friend that, if I were a guy, I would most likely be this guy. We met while working at the GAP a few, ok, 10 years ago. At the time, we were just getting to know each other. I was already married, so we weren’t getting to know each other like that, get your minds out of the gutter. He told me casually he went to church and I said we did, too. Work isn’t really the place where you can go on and on about your faith, so we just sort of left it at that.

Later, he mentioned he did a little piano playing and I told him I had done a little singing in high school and church choir. Again, totally off-handed comments, didn’t think too much about it. Then, a couple of weeks later, he invited us to go to a church for their Christmas concert. He said it was always really good. So, Ash and I went.

The concert was great and we all enjoyed ourselves. Then it happened.

The Halleluiah Chorus started playing, and of course everyone stood. I can’t help myself. I must sing alto as it is ingrained in my mind and programmed in me to do. I was singing my heart out to the Halleluiah Chorus when I noticed my friend was totally belting out the tenor! So much for “a little singing”! We BOTH knew absolutely every note of our parts and sang loud and proud to say the least! This moment solidified our friendship. We were smiling at each other and having fun harmonizing; then we laughed together afterward. From that moment on, we knew we were meant to be best friends and choir geeks  lovers of fine music for years to come.

 

peanuts_choir1

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 22:01:03

    I’m guessing he thought the song by Steve Miller said “Big Ol’ Jet has a Light on”. You got to Love him…cause nobody else would! Ha Ha

    Reply

  2. sarah
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 15:11:12

    Oh how I wish we could listen to Mariah these days. Nope, it is all Sandi Patti. 😦

    Reply

  3. leanne
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 18:56:45

    love.it. Great Post!! Great stories 🙂 I just love you guys 🙂

    Reply

  4. Jaime
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 23:11:28

    King of Kiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiings (Halleluiah, Halleluiah)and Lord of Loooooooooooooooooords (Halleluiah, Halleluiah)

    I could go on and on. Count me in with the choir geeks!

    Reply

  5. Terri Anne
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 01:21:07

    Great post. How fun!!
    PS- Can you e-mail me your new address? I just sent you an e-mail but I think I have your old e-mail address too b/c it was kicked back to me.

    Reply

  6. Joan
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 00:02:46

    Hi Char! It was so fun to read your blog. I just got your Christmas card photo, what a beautiful family! (You look amazing in that photo, hot mama!!!!) We miss you here in Boston in the midst of all the snow. Merry Christmas!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

