My First Attempts

I tried writing this post earler, but I looked up and all my text was just gone. I have no idea since I’m not a tech-savy gal, so I guess I’ll just try again..

I have a few pictures to share. Keep in mind that 1) I don’t think of myself as that “artsy” of a person and 2) I still have a lot to learn about my camera. It has been fun tinkering around with it, though. It’s so easy to look at and all of a sudden, I’ve taken 50 pictures of the kids playing outside.

I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but I’m sure you probably have since some of my IRL friends have mentioned it, but Binh never seems to be smiling in pictures. I think there are a couple of reasons why. First, he is leery of strangers. So when we are at a photo studio he is always watching the photographer intently and God forbid that person try to touch him to position him or something. The photographer can be making a total fool of him/herself and Binh’s just looking at them like, “whatever, dude. Don’t come near me..”. He is just sort of shy and it takes him quite a while to warm up to people. Another reason it’s hard to get a picture of him smiling is that he’s always on the move. Our other camera has a delay, so the moment would be over by the time it took the picture. Binh has some really cute, funny expressions. One of my favorite is when he’s smiling, sometimes often one of his eyes crinkles a little more than the other and he has this look that makes you wonder what he up to next.

This picture is quintessential Binh to me. It sums up his personality so well.

My Binh

Don’t those eys just tell what a little devil he is? He is getting funnier all the time. There are times I wish he could talk more so he could tell me what he’s thinking. He seems to be quite a pensive little guy at times, an old soul. He has a great range of emotion. He laughs hard and screams just as hard, too. Gotta’ love em.

csc_0419

Here’s a last one of my little man that a friend took at her house. And Binh says, “Sorry ladies, I know I look it, but I’m not old enough to date yet.”

dsc_0299

 

Here are a few pictures from the last couple of days of Ava. She’s always ready for the camera. She has taken to walking around with an old 35mm camera we had laying around the house that we let the kids play with. She got her purse and that camera the other day and declared, “I’m the mommy!”

A. jammies

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it, but Ava is a swing-aholic. She loved her baby swing when she was a wee one, and now it’s nearly impossible to get her off the swings. Even when we go to the park, where there so much stuff to climb on and play, she wants to swing. I have to preface her before we get to the playground that she can swing for a while, but then has to do other things, too. Here she is doing her favorite past time.

dsc_03561

Well, I think that’s all I’ll load you down with for now. I have taken a few still photos of things around the yard that I like. I’ll post them another day.

 

metaphase-sig

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Matthew
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 21:13:12

    Hello Ansel – Now that you have a fancy new camera, how’s about taking a picture of the entire family and using that as a header for the blog – I mean, now that Binh is here shouldn’t he be on the header too????? And the puppies too! Oh by the way, I’m sending you a tub of them in the mail.

    Reply

  2. metaphase
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 22:30:34

    A new header was one of my New Year to-dos. I’ll see what I can do..
    What’s really better than a tub o’ puppies? Yeah, nothing. They’ll make great subjects for photos, too!

    Reply

  3. leanne
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 03:19:35

    wow! I love them!! Ava looks so beautiful (I LOVE the first one of her) and Binh is such handsome little man!! And your friend, she is quite the photographer too!! I bet she has the best personality and is SO fun to be around?!?! 🙂

    Reply

  4. craftymommy
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 04:34:18

    The pictures look great! The kids look so sweet and charming. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Laurie
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 18:29:10

    Love the pictures! That 3rd one of Binh is just ridiculously adorable – sooooooo cute and looks like he was caught red-handed doing something!

    Reply

  6. Elaine
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 22:59:41

    Adorable pics!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

