Out of L.A. and Friends

The fam took a much needed mini-vacation to Atlanta for a friend’s wedding this past weekend. AND, Ash is still on vacation for the rest of the week! I have no idea what has come over this work-a-holic, but whatever it is, I like it! Okay, so he’s already decided to go in to work “for a couple hours” tomorrow, but I didn’t think he’d make it as long as he has, honestly.

So I said we attended a friend’s wedding. Actually, this person is my best friend from high school. You never really have friends like you do when you’re that age. Well, at least I don’t. Part of the reason is that we move so much, I never have a lot of time in any one place to make those deep, tell-all-your-dark-secrets kind of friendships. (ok, I know, I’m a goody two shoes for the most part and my dark secrets really are not that dark..) I think another reason that I don’t have those kind of friendships is that as we get older, stuff just takes over in our lives. We as women/moms/wives/employees don’t have the kind of time for ourselves that we did during those carefree, it’s-all-about-me days of high school or college. It’s hard to have meaningful conversation even with people you like when you have a couple of toddlers either 1)hanging off your legs whining “up, up” or 2) fighting with one another in the background.

I hadn’t seen my friend in years, though we do talk on the phone at least once a month. The once a month is my fault. She is totally a person who stays in touch with people. WHICH, is why her wedding was so freakin’ fun! It was like a mini high school reunion! I was able to see some close friends from high school along with meeting her college room mate (whom I felt like I knew b/c I heard about her and her life over the years from my friend). While I was talking and laughing with some of my old friends I said, “Now, I remember why I love you guys so much!” Being with them was like coming home. Those people, from all those years ago, know me. Although I’ve been married 14 years and have two kids that they just met for the first time, deep down, I’m still just Char. I like to dance, sing loudly, be on time, talk with friends, all the things I liked to do when I was 18. At the core, I’m still just me.

What was great was that I knew all my friends, too. I knew I couldn’t be late to the wedding, not even a moment, because my friend (like me) wants to be on time. I knew most of her family would have have something crazy to say and love each other deeply while saying it. I knew my friend would be down to earth while pulling off a classy wedding supplied with expensive French wine from her parents. (brought from France in their suitcases!) I felt so at home and now I miss those folks even more. What’s great is that my friend has the distinct pleasure of having these people in her life all the time, because she makes the effort. She takes the time to send my kids birthday cards, us anniversary cards and keep in touch in other ways, too. But we’re not the only ones. And for that effort, she had a room full of people that love her that span coming into her life over the course of 25 years. (She met her now best friend in 5th grade and they’ve always been very close.) In short, she has friends because she is a friend.

So go take inventory of your real friends and be thankful for the ones you have. Contact someone you care about but haven’t had time to call/write.

And, congratulations and I love you, the new Mrs. S..

csc_1143

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mommy
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 15:18:09

    I want to congratulate Mrs. S. I saw her an awfully lot when they were in high school too. I know the feelings of real friends. When I went to my 50th class reunion it was just like me and my best friend from 1st. grade had seen each other everyday. New friends are nice but old friends are treasures.

    Reply

  2. j
    Feb 08, 2009 @ 13:59:28

    You are the sweetest (and apparently have the best photos)! So glad we got a chance to celebrate together. We were just talking about how we would love to venture down to see you all this summer. Hopefully Mr. S can get the time off.

    Reply

  3. craftymommy
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 16:20:53

    That’s sweet. I don’t know what I would do without my friends myself. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Elaine
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 15:45:21

    Your friend sounds like the kindo of friend I’d lke to be, but am terribly NOT. Glad you had a good time catching up with your friends.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

