At the YMCA…

It’s fun to stay at the….ok, only kidding. I just wanted to get a really annoying song stuck in your head for the next 24 hours or so.

Well, I’ve been thinking of joining the Y for a few weeks now. I’m 1) not getting any younger 2) have a history on both sides of heart disease and 3) flabbier than I’ve ever been in my life! Those are some pretty good reason, huh? I went this week to take the plunge and joined. I chose the Y because they have some really great kid’s programs as well as stuff for adults. They also have a very clean nursery to drop the kids off while I do stuff. I also liked that there is no contract to sign so if I find we’re not using the membership, I can cancel any time.

I went to a Zumba class for the first time the other night. Have you ever been to one of those classes? It is a combo salsa/excercise class. I thought it was pretty fun, though I felt a little self conscious since I had to pick up on the moves, not to mention do the moves, which consisted of a lot of hip gyrating. For a girl with big hips, this can be a little intimidating! The folks there were of all shapes and sizes and everyone was having a great time, though, so it didn’t take long to cut loose and have some fun.

Then,  yesterday I decided to take Binh to a class for 18 month-3 year old. It’s a “mommy and me” class, which means I stay in the class with him. I thought since Ava has dance class, this might be fun for Binh and me to do together. Well, I trekked the kids out in the rain to get there on time and when I got there they told me the class was cancelled because they didn’t have a teacher that day. Grrr…So glad I ran around the house getting everyone ready to go out into the rain. As it turns out, a lot of moms showed up for the cancelled class, so we took our kids into the gym and let them run around and play with the huge ab balls and other equipment. I got Ava from the nursery and she got to join in, too. I got a chance to talk to some of the other moms and they said the class is actually pretty fun, so I guess I’ll give it another try. Maybe this time I’ll call the day-of first.

They have kid’s swim classes there, but I’m not sure whether that’s something I want to do with the kids. What do you think? Should I wait until they’re older, or is sooner better? I don’t know that Binh would enjoy it too much yet, but I think Ava would be up for it.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarah
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 18:20:52

    I am not speaking out of exper. here but if I was in an area that offered swim classes, I would do it ASAP. that is just me though.

    Reply

  2. Shawn
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 18:38:22

    Well, I have been reading this blog for sometime now and keeping my comments to myself. But this this time I have to speak, get Ava and Binh to swim classes NOW. You know, I waited to late for your nephew, and it was embarrassing for him. Quit thinking of you, and think of them.

    Reply

  3. Elaine
    Feb 13, 2009 @ 01:38:48

    We keep thinking of joining the Y here, too; but it’s 30 minutes away. Everything is 30 minutes away. I can’t stand it. But, yeah, I’d get them in the swim class if you have the option.

    Reply

  4. leanne
    Feb 13, 2009 @ 14:46:21

    Did you meet any moms you could go to the park with? I heard you can find great treasures in L.A. parks. You might want to check that out 🙂

    Go for it with the swim classes! It’s never too early!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

