Hands to Hearts

I was surfing the web looking into some cool T-shirts for Binh. He is (finally!) starting to outgrow some of the stuff we bought for him before he was even home and some of the things from last summer. I was looking at the Tiny Revolutionary website because they donate a portion of their proceeds to charities like Doctors Without Borders and Infant Crisis Services. I mean, how can you not buy a cute shirt and help others, right? Well, while I was looking around at their site, I saw a shirt that made a donation (half of the price of the shirt, $20) to Hands to Hearts. I must be honest and say I didn’t know anything about this organization, but I clicked the shirt just to read about it and found out it helps women and orphans. That of course had me interested, but the shirt was $40 and I didn’t know if I could justify $40 for a two year old. Well, then it had a link to click to watch a short video about what they do. I only needed to see about the first 10 seconds before I knew Binh would be sporting this shirt here in LA.

 yhst-39022492304813_2039_4010521After watching the video and ordering the shirt, I went to the Hands to Hearts website and looked around there for a bit. They have a blog and I read the most recent post. I hope you’ll at least go check it out and see what you think. I know we’re all running shorter on cash than usual, but we have so much more than most. The fact that I’m on my own computer right now after eating a filling lunch proves exactly what I mean. This organization my not be the one you want to donate to, but don’t forget to give somewhere, whether that means your money or your time. I have found that what I get in return is so much greater than what I give.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    Feb 25, 2009 @ 19:13:18

    I have learned in the past that not all organizations give much of your donations to the charities, so I try to give it directly to them. But it’s harder to keep track of it. Buy him a shirt for $5.00 and give the other $10.00 or $15.00 directly to the charity of your choice. If only everyones heart could be as big as yours! Love Ya

    Reply

  2. Mike
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 14:55:42

    Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

    Reply

  3. Laura Peterson
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 18:50:55

    Thanks so much for your support! I am Laura Peterson, the Founder/Director of Hands to Hearts International, and I am just returned from visiting all of our sites in India – meeting many of the women and children we help. I can vouch for both what HHI does – we and those we serve are real people in need – and that Tiny is a fabulous company, who we are very lucky to have the support of. They do indeed give HHI a full $20 for every shirt sold and this goes directly to support our continued success in supporting women and children in great need.

    Reply

  4. Heather
    Mar 18, 2009 @ 23:30:18

    I agree totally with you. I just can not stop thinking about the children and people of Vietnam. What I saw, while I was in Vietnam, will impact me for the rest of my life. It is so important to me to give back on a constant basis. It has been especially hard lately to fund raise with the economy but the need is still there so I must try.

    I just started a fundraiser to build a house for a needy family in Vietnam; I found I had to add an incentive this time (Chance to win double stroller) to get the donations in this economy. Still not going as well as I hoped. This is something I have wanted to do for a while and I am really hoping I reach my goal. My ultimate goal is to someday build an orphanage; I think I will have to wait for the economy to improve to reach that goal.

    Thank you for this post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

