Our First Family Day

Today is our family’s first Family Day. We made our journey to the Vung Tau orphanage one year ago today. On this day I met a very tiny, shell shocked little boy that in the last year has stolen my heart and the hearts of most of the people he has come in contact with. I think it has taken most of the year for Binh to fully adjust to being son, brother, grandson, and nephew. I must say, now he embraces all of these roles with zeal. I’m so thankful this little boy has come into my life.

Ash and I were talking about Binh and his story when we had our date night last night. I know. Catch your breath, people, we had another date night. That makes two now, more than we’ve had in the last few years!  Although Binh’s adoption story is his own, there is one part that I will happily share.

Adoption is heartbreaking and soul-soaring all at the same time. I grieve for the birthmother that no doubt loves her son, the one she will most likely never know. At the same time, I have the distinct and utter joy of having this child as my own son. This woman has given me the most precious gift anyone can give, the gift of life. Having said this, as a Christian, I know God is omniscient and omnipotent. Part of Binh’s adoption story that I will tell him, is that I know that even as he was conceived in his mother’s womb, God knew I would be his mom and that we would be a family. He never has to question his place in life. He belongs.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord,

“plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

-Jeremiah 29:11

 

“My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place.

When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my

unformed body.

All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”

-Psalm 139:15-16

Last year:

mom_binh

Last week:

bwindow

Happy Family Day, son. We love you.

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. leanne
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 12:32:33

    I read this post last night and then went to bed…I laid in bed thinking about how thankful I am for you guys and for little Binh! You all are so very special in our lives. Happy Family Day to you all!!

    Lots of love!

    Reply

  2. Martha
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 21:49:41

    THANK YOU for your words of support on my blog. It helps more than I can possibly explain!
    Martha
    http://www.CaliforniaChaz.blogspot.com

    Reply

  3. Anne
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 05:11:13

    Oh, I am late but HAPPY FAMILY DAY!!! I can’t wait to see you guys again – maybe a welcome home baby boy Jenkins!!!

    Reply

  4. sarah
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 17:35:15

    I cried when I read this. Just knowing and seeing how much you all love Binh makes me so happy. What a distinct diff you can tell in his eyes alone between the two pictures.

    Happy Family Day.

    Reply

  5. Elaine
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 01:53:41

    Happy family day! I really appreciated this post. Probably because I totally agree with your perspective on it. I don’t believe for a minute that God made our children’s birthmothers make the difficult decisions that lead to adoption, but I do believe wholheartedly that He knew they would make those decsions, and He knew we would ultimately be their parents.

    Reply

  6. Terri Anne
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 23:36:31

    Happy Belated Family Day!! You can see the change in his eyes. I agree wholeheartedly that God planned this from the beginning. The miracle that is adoption still amazes me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

