Vacation!

Our family is going on its first “for real, though” vacation this week. So you know we love the Red Sox (hey, 10 straight wins and a stolen home, but I’m just sayin’). Well, Ash and I got tickets to see them in Tampa this weekend. It’s great because my parents live down that way and they’re happy to babysit. Easy enough, right? Take a couple of days, go see a game, visit with the fam..

Well, then I got this bright idea that we could go just a couple of days early and stay in Tampa for a day or two. You know, go to the beach and all. Ok, so I booked that, too.

Then, I found out that military gets in free to Disney in 2009. So then we added on a couple of days after the game to go to Disney. I was thinking we’d go to the park just for the day. It’s only about 30-45 minutes from my parents house, so it would be an easy add on. I called about the free ticket. Well…I found out that military also gets big discounts on Disney resorts and dining. You can see where this is going, right? We now have a three night Disney extravaganza booked as well.

So, our Red Sox outing has morphed into a week long, beach-going, Disney vacation. I must say, this is the only time we’ll get off this cheap going to Disney. I wouldn’t ordinarily think taking toddlers to Disney would be a good idea, but they get in free, Ash gets a free 5 day park hopper, and I get a 5 day pass for under $100. I won’t feel too bad if we have to leave and go back to the hotel for nap time. (for me, I mean!) I don’t think we’ll feel that pressure of “Ok kids, outta’ bed! We’re going to do everything at the park TODAY!”

I’ll try to post during our vacation, but won’t be making any promises. AND, I still need to talk about the fact that I got my first blog award! I was so excited. I will get to that post, Elaine. Don’t give up on me!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarah
    Apr 27, 2009 @ 20:19:29

    I can’t wait to hear about your award! that is awesome. So is your trip! Oh my word…. you guys will have a blast. I hear that Animal Kingdom is the way to go. We wanted to go there a few years ago but that is a blog in itself. We never went. You totally should. We ate lunch at the Rainforest cafe’ and it was so cool. I bet the kids would love it!

    I hope you all have a really great time. I can’t wait to see some (fabulous) pictures and read all about the big vacation!

    Reply

  2. Terri Anne
    Apr 28, 2009 @ 00:01:12

    That is awesome!! I’m glad to hear Disney is offering that to our military families!! I love the whole story of how this evolved… so exciting. I went to Disney w/ my niece & nephew when they were 3 & 15 months. They did well, but breaks are good as it is sensory overload. Have an awesome time!! Go Sox!!

    Reply

  3. asmalltowndad
    Apr 28, 2009 @ 14:46:27

    I wanna be there…please oh please! You guys deserve a little excitement, so go and have fun. But think of me when doing so.
    Love Ya and be safe

    Reply

  4. Bro
    Apr 29, 2009 @ 13:37:16

    hey sis,
    have a super awesome time, say hello to our parents, get Ash a pair of Mickey ears to wear, let my niece and nephew do whatever they want, and get cinderella’s phone number for me! 🙂
    Be safe and embrace each moment –
    luv ya,
    bro

    Reply

  5. Shawn
    Apr 29, 2009 @ 18:41:10

    Disney World, reminds me when we were little,Char. When we went with our colored outfits with matching socks. Oh, how I hated the three little pigs. Good ole days! Hurry up with my parents, so they can get home(Indiana).

    Reply

  6. Sarah
    May 01, 2009 @ 05:27:09

    Lucky!!! I love the beach and Disney and baseball is good too 🙂

    I hope you have a great time!

    Reply

  7. Laurie
    May 04, 2009 @ 00:49:27

    Woohoo! Have a blast! btw, i don’t think i have your password (or i can’t find it if i do), but would love to have it if you’re comfortable sharing. hope you guys are having a blast!

    Reply

  8. Elaine
    May 07, 2009 @ 11:28:03

    Wow, almost makes me wish we were still military (but, umm, not really). That’s awesome that Disney is doing that and that you can go enjoy it! Hope you’re having a great time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

