Vacation Wrap-up

We made it back from our family vacation. I don’t have my pictures uploaded yet, so I’ll have to make that another post. We had a great time, and the kids were pretty much awesome the entire time. Things went so much better than I expected and I am hopeful for our future vacations because of this one.

We drove down to Tampa and both kids did well in the car. Ava told us when she had to go potty and she didn’t have any accidents. Both kids napped in the car and we only had to stop I think a total of three times.  A friend gave us a dvd player that we didn’t break out until the last hour of our car ride. Ash affectionately named it “the closer”. 

Our hotel in Tampa was much better than I expected. We stayed on the Air Force base there, so I had no idea what we were going to get. I just knew it was cheap. Well, it was like an apartment- actually, it was an apartment. It had a full kitchen with dining table that seated six, a high chair, pack-n-play(we didn’t use it but I thought it was a nice touch),  full living room and two bedrooms in a split floor plan. We also has a washer and dryer, so we got to leave there with suitcases full of clean clothes. We went to the beach and my parents met us and went, too. Then, my mom came back to our “room” and made us a home-cooked meal. Sweet!

The Red Sox won the game we attended, thank goodness. The kids stayed with my parents and my mom said they were great for her. I think she let them stay up waaay past bedtime, and they probably ate too many 0reos, but hey, that’s what grandparents are for, right? They don’t get to spend too much time with them, so it’s all right with me.

The last part of our trip we spent at Disney World. I can’t believe how much my little ones loved Disney! I didn’t know how much they’d really “get” or if they’d see stuff and be over it within an hour. Oh, no, quite the contrary. Binh’s favorite word this entire trip was “go, go”. He wanted to be where the action was. Binh wasn’t too fond of the characters, but Ava was all about them. She said, “They have pretty big heads, huh?” I think she had a crush on Handy Manny, and she literally cried and waved bye bye when we left the castle at the Magic Kingdom.

If any one is interested on tips for Disney with little ones, I think I learned a few things. I could make a couple of posts about that in the next weeks, if you’d like.

Here’s something I noticed at Disney this time. The overwhelming amount of people there were Americans. Usually when I’ve gone, it’s like a meeting of the U.N. and you hear all sorts of languages being spoken. Not this time. I heard English and Spanish almost exclusively. I think the economy has international folks staying home and the deep discounts Disney is offering has Americans out on vacation. (That’s what got us there, afterall!)  Just an interesting observation I thought I’d share.

Hopefully, I’ll have some pics in the next few days to share. Thanks for reading along. I hope it wasn’t like when someone makes you look at their vacation slides!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    May 12, 2009 @ 22:51:41

    I want to hear the tips on Disney with little ones! We’ve been thinking about it, but we’re still a little weary.

    Reply

  2. Karoliina
    May 13, 2009 @ 10:48:19

    The economy is affecting vacations for sure, and I’d say the swine flu is doing it’s fair share now as well. (Although I have to admit I found it quite amusing to see Asians wearing face masks at the Helsinki Airport this past week. None of the other folks had them. I think Asians just remember the other epidemics a bit too clearly, and come prepared – despite the fact that there hadn’t been any confirmed cases in Finland at that point, now there’s two.) We just got back from Portugal, and it was clear that businesses were suffering… empty restaurants, that sort of thing. Of course, it’s still off season in Europe, but still. We enjoyed having more of the gorgeous country to “ourselves” though!

    Reply

  3. sarah
    May 13, 2009 @ 11:51:14

    I would LOVE to hear the Disney tips. and any other vacation traveling tips you may have as well. We still have a year or two until we go there, but still. 🙂

    Reply

  4. asmalltowndad
    May 13, 2009 @ 13:08:07

    Hey Sis sounds like you had a great time. My tip for Disney…stay in a Disney park hotel (a must), stay in a cheaper Disney Hotel because your never in the room. Get a Park hopper pass for several days so you can select times and parks that best fit your needs, and then last but not least allow yourself to become a kid again and join in on the Disney Fantasy with your kids. No body does it better than Disney. Now it’s time for you to take a Hayesland trip and come visit!

    Reply

  5. melinda
    May 13, 2009 @ 21:45:26

    Sounds like fun. Can’t wait to see the pictures.

    Reply

  6. Bro
    May 14, 2009 @ 14:28:59

    Hi sis,
    Heard you had a great time! Mom said you all ‘piled together’ in a family setting for a night or two and really enjoyed sharing time with the grand-kiddos!

    What! OREOS!!! Got to go…heading to the store! lol

    luv ya,
    Bro

    Reply

Leave a Reply

