Holy Vacation Pictures! Plus, a Disney Tip

Here are a bunch of pictures from our vacation to Disney. I know they weren’t too timely, but we’ve been busy. (busy vacationing again:). Did I mention I’m going to Japan next week? Yeah, I’m leaving yet again. I need to get  few posts done before then. 

I want give you what I feel to be an invaluable Disney tip if you’re traveling with young children. I wish I could take full credit, but Regis, the guy who helped me set up our vacation told me this and our trip there just confirmed it for me.

Tip #1: Take your own stroller (if you’re driving, this is an easier task than if you’re flying). Stroller rental at Disney is $15 per day for a single and $31/day for a double stroller. We took our double since we have two small kids, and I would say use the room in your car and take the double if you have small children. The thing is, yes you can rent a stroller, but you have to pick it up and leave it at the gates (obviously, but I’m just sayin’..). The time we needed the stroller most was getting out of our hotel and to the buses and then off the buses and to the gates of the parks. Basically, we needed it when we were really trying to get somewhere with purpose, which usually wasn’t inside the park. Plus, at the end of the night, when everyone was tired and cranky, it was nice to have it to just wheel them where we needed to get. So, save your money and just take your own stroller if you are able to. There is plenty of “stroller parking” for rides etc, and everyone’s stuff seemed perfectly safe. There were people (“cast members”) whose job it was to make sure strollers were parked nicely and so those folks are around them most of the time. Mind you, I didn’t like leave my camera in the stroller or anything, but I think your diapers and stuff would be safe in there.

Ok, so on with the photos:

This is Ash’s “I’m about to see my Red Sox” face:

ashsox

I have to put this in here for all my Red Sox Nation friends. These are three of our favorite guys, Keven Youkilis (Ash’s favorite), Mike Lowell, and Jason Bay. We had really terrific seats and we got there to see batting practice.

youlowbay

Tell me she doesn’t have dreamy Handy Manny eyes:

manny

Binh isn’t into getting his picture taken. I had to spring this one on him while we was playing at the playground at the hotel:

binhslide

Here’s Ava and me enjoying one of the shows at Disney Hollywood Studios:

m&Adis

Now, the kids haven’t watched any Disney movies (ie. Little Mermaid, Sleeping Beauty, Cinderella). None, they just don’t have the attention span and frankly I don’t think they need to watch 2 hours of anything. But, Ava totally “got” the magic of Disney and the Princesses. We’ve read books with princesses and castles, that sort of thing. She wanted to stay at the Magic Kingdom castle. She loved that thing. She doesn’t know it, but she’s getting a doll house castle, a replica of the one at Magic Kingdom, for her birthday. (Daddy is such a softy. He bought it when he was checking out of the hotel) 🙂 How much did this kid love that castle? Here she is when the park was closed and we had to leave. She’s crying and waving bye-bye to the castle.

byecastle

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. leanne
    May 25, 2009 @ 01:57:12

    great pictures Char! I can’t believe you leave next week for your trip…I’ll add y’all to my prayer list. We miss you guys and need to get together soon after you return!

    Tell Ash to call me if he needs any help!

    Reply

  2. Terri Anne
    May 25, 2009 @ 20:55:35

    What great pics….the last one waving good-bye to the castle is just priceless… too sweet.

    Reply

  3. asmalltowndad
    May 26, 2009 @ 14:56:58

    I remember those days of loving arrival day at Disney and hating the departure day, and now Jordy is a graduate. Enjoy them while their young because it doesn’t last long. Love the pics!

    Reply

  4. sarah
    May 26, 2009 @ 15:10:40

    I love the pictures. Rip my heart out with Ava’s sad face over leaving. 🙂

    Reply

  5. leanne
    May 27, 2009 @ 02:49:04

    Ummmm….Izzie asked for Ava about 2 dozen times today…seriously!! Do y’all have plans this weekend? What day do you leave? Izzie needs an Ava fix!

    Reply

  6. Elaine
    May 27, 2009 @ 17:37:34

    Wow, she realy did love that castle, didn’t she? And the pic of your husband? He looks like the one CSI guy. You know, the original CSI, not all the spin offs. What is that guy’s name? George Edes or something? I don’t know. I can’t even remember the character’s name. But anyway, your husband looks just like him in that photo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

