Why?

Well, it looks like Ava is right on track for turning three at the end of next month. Since I’ve been home, I have noticed an exponential increase in this child’s questions of “why?”. Why can’t she pour sand on her brother’s head? (We went to the beach today). Why does Caleb need to go outside? Why does she have to wear clothes instead of her jammies out to dinner? Yes, the whole world has become a question of why.

A couple of weeks ago, my answers to her questions were good enough. Now, however, we have the “why” with the often accompanied “follow-up why”. I mean, I answer her first question of why, then she asks why in response to my answer.

This could prove to be a long year. Let’s hope she gets through this phase rather quickly. Why? Because I may run out of answers soon..

Here’s a picture of my sweet, little, inquisitive one at her dance recital. I know, I know, gratuitous cute pic. I just couldn’t help myself.

P6070022

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarah
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 17:18:50

    ADORABLE!

    did she have run at the recital?

    There is a big possibility that I never outgrew my #3 year as far as the question asking goes. 🙂 But you knew that already.

    Reply

  2. asmalltowndad
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 18:41:24

    Why are her arms up?
    Why are her eyes blue and mine are brown?
    Why is her Uncle Ryan the best looking of all Uncles?
    Oh, by the way, why, never stops…
    Why can’t I stay out until 2am everyone else is?
    Why can’t I date at age 15, everyone else does?
    Why can’t I wear close that are half the size they are supposed to be?
    It NEVER ends!

    Reply

  3. Tracy @ My Minivan Rocks!
    Jun 16, 2009 @ 04:19:41

    Oh why do they have to go through this stage? Why? Why? Why, Mommy? Why? ….. But why?

    Reply

  4. Elaine
    Jun 19, 2009 @ 02:20:20

    Ugh! The why stage. No fun, no fun. Your brother is right, it never stops. It slows and subsides, but it never stops. The questions just change.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

