Where Do They Learn These Words

This morning I took Ava to the potty and as I was getting her all cleaned up and off, this is the conversation that ensued:

Ava: “Do you have a gun in your hair?”

(I had my hair in my morning top knot. You know the one, a sort of pony tail but more of a really messy bun. The one you have before you take a shower and really “do” you hair. So I know my hair doesn’t look its best, but come on, people.)

Me: “What?! No!”

Ava, smiling: “What’s a gun?”

Well, thank goodness she had no idea what she was really talking about, but where in the world did that word come from and what prompted her to try it out at that moment?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy @ My Minivan Rocks!
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 02:50:14

    Um, you’re only supposed to wear your hair like that BEFORE the shower? ‘Cause that’s basically how mine is all.the.time.

    Kids do say weird things. Grandma takes the kids to the local bakery. We passed it on the way home the other day and Noah said, “Mommy, there’s the cookie store. Grandma goes there, but you don’t because you’re fair.” What?

    Reply

    • metaphase
      Jun 27, 2009 @ 13:55:39

      Ok, so even after I “do” my hair, it’s not that great or anything. It usually (especially now that it’s like 101 degree here all the time) goes from the messy bun thing to just a brushed, regular pony tail. So, basically, I’m right there with you.

      Reply

  2. leanne
    Jun 29, 2009 @ 14:41:57

    I keep a gun in my hair all the time! It’s the new fad…did you not know?

    Reply

  3. connieMchung
    Jun 30, 2009 @ 20:09:45

    hi!!! thank you for dropping by my blog. 🙂 i truly laughed out loud at this story. so cute.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

