Metaphase Updates

I know I’ve been a bad blogger in the last week or so. Things have been pretty busy around here. I still don’t have tons of time to blog right now, but I’ll give you a quick run down of what’s been going on around Metaphaseland:

– We were able to see our “second-favorite” (tee-hee) Vietnamese Prince turn one year old. We had a great day of grilling, giggling, and swimming at our friends’ house. Ava and Izzie have a good time together, and it was great just getting to spend time with one of our favorite families. Oh, yes, and I have to mention that Binh started jumping off the diving board at thier pool. Try to imagine this little 22 lb. bundle of dynamite taking the big plunge- it was scary and funny at the same time! Of course, after Binh did it, Ava was right behind him trying it too.

– We spent July 4th (wasn’t that forever ago?) in Destin, FL. with my brother and his family. The weather was perfect and  the kids totally wore themselves out at the pool and the beach. Ava actually fell asleep on the couch while everyone was talking. That NEVER happens. It was great to get to spend some time with everyone at probably my favorite beach in the world. My niece just graduated high school, so this vacation my very well have been the last that everyone in my brother’s family was in attendance.

– I decided to teach a class entitled “Exploring Adoption” this fall at my church. I felt compelled to do this after I found out how many people in my church are trying to become parents/have another child. I talked to a friend from church who is a lawyer and he told me he had been contacted by several families asking what he knew about adoption. Hopefully, I can help a couple of people sort through the basics so it doesn’t seem so overwhelming. I am by no means an expert, so if any of you have something you feel is important to discuss just let me know. I’m always open to advice!

-Over the weekend, Ash found three baby bunnies abandoned in our yard just laying in the dirt. They were really tiny. Their eyes and ears are still closed kind of tiny. We kept an eye on them most of the day to see if the mom would come back, but she never did.  One of the bunnies died but I’ve been feeding the other two with an eye dropper since Saturday. I think I’m going to call the local environmental center today and see if they can take them.

– We bought two new t.v.’s over the weekend. We’ve had the same t.v. since 1996. Actually, we had a 22 in. until about 2003 when a friend felt sorry for us or something and traded us for a 27 in. that his kids had in their bedroom. So, now we have a 50 in. plasma in our living room. Insane, I know. It kinda’ freaks me out because it so huge compared to what we’re used to having. Then, we got a 32 in. hdtv for our bedroom. We’ve never had more than one t.v. in our house, so this is a big change for us.

Well, that’s about it for now. I’ll hopefully update a little more frequently, but I’ve got to start preparing for that class, so I don’t know how much spare time I’ll have.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. leanne
    Jul 14, 2009 @ 14:25:05

    Hey Hey!! I miss you! How does your weekend look? Let’s talk later…we have to see this new TV!

    Reply

  2. sarah
    Jul 14, 2009 @ 17:05:49

    wow. talk about a big TV. I bet it is quite a change from the “old school” tube TV. And I am sure the kids love it just as much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

