Fifteen Minutes Can Save You Hundreds…

Toddlers get ideas in their heads and stew in them for a while until they get it all figured out. I get that. But lately, we have something going on in our house I never thought a kid would think was terrific or interesting, or something a kid would even give a second thought. Ava has a new obsession lately- car insurance. Strange? That would be a yes. Funny? I’d gotta’ go with absolutely. I mean, really, what 3 year old gets excited when she hears an insurance commercial on the radio?

I think this all started about a month or 6 weeks ago. As we all know, we watch Red Sox baseball all summer. It is on after dinner and usually the kids are messing around in the back yard. Then after a while, when it gets close to bedtime, Ava tells me she wants to “relax” for a while until she has to go to bed. This is more of a stalling tactic, but I like her cuddling up with me, so I let her “relax” (her word, not mine) until I tell her to go pick out the book we’re going to read for bedtime. Anyway, baseball is sponsored by all these insurance agencies. They have the Amica (in Boston pronounced Ami-CER) pitch zone, the Aflac trivia question and such. There are also about a dozen Geico commercials, but I don’t remember what exactly for. I never really thought about all these insurance agencies advertising on baseball, but then Ava started asking about car insurance. Then she told us all about the “cash money in a rubber band with big eyes”.  Then, when she saw that duck she’d yell “Aflac!” It’s just odd that she knows all the different companies, too..

She’s really excited about car insurance and talks about it all. the. time. Remember the baby bunny I told you I rescued? Well, no one wanted to take it, so I fed it for 3.5 weeks and then released it. (happy ending, nice) That bunny’s name? Car Insurance. Ask Ava what she wants for lunch? Car insurance. When we’re listening to the radio and a Geico commercial comes on she says, ” Car insurance! Turn it up, please!” Just plain weird. I sometimes hear her from the backseat saying that fifteen minutes can save you hundreds…on your car insurance.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 15:11:16

    Yes, I was wondering if I could get a quote for a 46 year old male with an excellent driving record? Also Ava do you give discounts for home insurance? Just let me know….Thanks

    Reply

  2. Shawn
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 18:04:27

    Isn’t it funny how things stick inside a child”s mind. I remember when my son was that age, the movie GREASE was what stuck in his. He played that movie until it broke and we had to get another one. At least, with Ava you only hear the words “AFLAC” and not “SUMMER NIGHTS”

    Reply

  3. Bro
    Aug 12, 2009 @ 13:47:21

    That is so cool – and they say commercial marketing doesnt work! McDonalds found the key to marketing success many years ago by targeting their marketing platform toward kids (Happy Meals). With a goofy pair of eyes and the MJ song ‘Somebody’s watching me’ – we all know that you can save as much as X dollars on your car insurance. Yes Ava, uncle rick watches them too! 🙂
    luv ya’s

    Reply

  4. sarah
    Aug 12, 2009 @ 13:54:36

    this is too funny. Car Insurance.

    This post put the biggest smile on my face. I love it!

    Reply

  5. leanne
    Aug 13, 2009 @ 03:35:09

    This is too funny!!

    Reply

  6. Laurie
    Aug 13, 2009 @ 14:25:44

    This is HYSTERICAL. I’m laughing especially hard because just yesterday Jack spilled something on his shirt and suggested I get some oxyclean. Travis and I exchanged looks and agreed to be more careful about his exposure to commercials (we DVR everything but sometimes it records the ads before or after). Ava and Jack would be quite the pair – she could run the business and he could be her sales rep;) Hahaha!

    Reply

  7. melinda
    Aug 15, 2009 @ 01:26:45

    Omy! That’s hilarious!

    Reply

  8. Elaine
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 16:15:01

    That cracks me up! You just never know what they are picking up on. When Tank Boy was 3 he used to just suddenly blurt out, “Super Why is brought to you by . . . a cooperative grant . . . educational foundation.” I don’t remember how the whole thing goes (hence the . . . ). It is long. And he knew the whole thing. Weird. I’ve decided three is just a weird (but fun) age.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

