Help Me With a Gift Idea

I need a little help from you guys. Ash and I will be celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary at the end of the month. I know what you’re thinking. How in the world can someone so young and girlish looking be married for 15 years? Well, I had an arranged marriage at the age of 12. Perhaps I lived in Colorado City? Bad joke, bad. (Funny, the longer I’m married, the younger I have to keep making myself at the time of the arranged marriage. When our 10 year anniversary was rolling around, my story was that I was 16 at the time of our wedding. Now I’m down to 12! I think I may have to come up with a new story.)

Anyway, I’d like to get something sort of nice for Ash, but I have no idea what. I want it to be somewhat meaningful, but something he could actually use, too. Or maybe I just want meaningful, I don’t know. So here’s where you come in. What can I get for my guy?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jaime
    Oct 05, 2009 @ 01:58:06

    Wow! 15 years. It seems like yeaterday. I like the Colorado story, btw. I guess I was illegally driving to get to your wedding since I am a year your jr. : ) The traditional gift for 15 years is crystal and the modern gift for 15 years is a watch. Being that you came to wedded bliss via an arranged marriage, I would stick to tradition and go with a nice watch with something meaningful to both of you engraved on it and a photo of you and the kids in a crystal frame. Then all bases are covered. Both gifts are meaningful and useful. (and lets face it, this gives your arranged marriage at 12 story more credence) I wish I had some better ideas, but there it is off the cuff.

    Reply

  2. 3continentfamily
    Oct 05, 2009 @ 10:14:15

    Would a gift certificate for a therapeutic massage be something he’d like? I got one for my guy and he loved it. I also treated him to an incredibly awesome dinner out once- equally appreciated 🙂 Congrats!

    Reply

  3. asmalltowndad
    Oct 05, 2009 @ 13:29:31

    A younger wife! Just kidding, don’t go black belt on my butt for that comment. With younger kids sometimes a weekend away just the two of you. You’ll spend the first few hours worrying about the kids, but then the worries seem to fade and the fun begins. It’s usually great for the relationship, and if you are like me, you’ll miss the kids just enough to rush home the last day of your trip. It doesn’t have to be far away, just a bed and breakfast, and a few nice dinners. Oh, and congratulations!

    Reply

  4. Matthew
    Oct 05, 2009 @ 17:34:32

    Here are my suggestions:

    1) A nice bag for his laptop…not really a briefcase, but a nice quality bag he can have to keep all his work stuff together, especially if he decides to take a job outside of the military. A great bag will last forever.

    2) A nice watch. I know he’s not into having like a $6,000 Cartier Roadster (I am, by the way), but maybe just a nice, smart-looking watch. He’s got one from Tiffany, doesn’t he?

    3) Perhaps you could hire a really great photographer and have a portrait of just you and the kids together. Then get it nicely matted and framed or even put on canvass for him to have. That would be awesome.

    4) A new puppy?

    5) Fly him to the next U2 concert?

    6) New golf clubs?

    7) A nice suit? (I’m trying, I’m sorry)

    I think that’s all I got.

    Reply

  5. sarah
    Oct 05, 2009 @ 18:30:12

    well, I thought when I left my comment I was going to be the first to say “a nice watch”, but I am not. I think it would be a symbolic gift and something useful and nice. Just an idea.

    I also really think you all would have a really nice time getting away for the weekend ALONE. Especially since you have not done that in over 3 years, at least.

    The picture of you and the kids is nice too. I would totally get it put on canvas though, not framed. Maybe Kelly could do it?

    Those are my votes. A weekend away is #1. That is just my opinion. I think the memory of that weekend would be more meaningful than a gift… but that is just my opinion.

    Reply

  6. sarah
    Oct 05, 2009 @ 18:31:27

    dang – how many times could I say “that is just my opinion” in my comment? Note to self – start proofing comments before you leave them. 🙂

    Reply

  7. 1beautifulmess
    Oct 06, 2009 @ 16:40:31

    I think you should take him on a va-ca to upper AL. I’ve heard of this really great get-away that has horses, chickens and pigs. 🙂

    okay, okay…seriously…I think you should make him a shutterfly book of pictures from the last 15 years. It would be a lot of work, but I think he would really appreciate it?

    See ya tonight…YAY! 🙂

    Reply

  8. 1beautifulmess
    Oct 06, 2009 @ 16:41:29

    BTW….If you take Matthew’s 5th suggestion…can we come too?!?!

    Reply

  9. Elaine
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 15:37:13

    I think the weekend away sounds nice. I can’t imagine anyone NOT liking that.

    Reply

  10. metaphase
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 16:21:44

    Yes, the weekend away would be GREAT, but unless we’re going to cook a big pot of rice to leave in the living room for the kids, we have no where for them to go. We don’t have family in the area that can take care of them or anything like that.
    Believe me, I’d be all for a weekend get away otherwise!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

