Where Do Little Brothers Come From?

Ava is (still) in her why phase. This morning I was getting Binh out of bed and changing him and all that morning stuff. Ava was messing around at the train table and our conversation went a little something like this:

Ava: Why do I have a little brother?

Me: Well, Mom and Dad wanted another child, and that’s what God gave us- Binh. (Meaning God gave us a boy as opposed to a girl)

Ava: But I thought we got Binh from the airport..

Tee-hee. Ava clearly remembers the plane ride to Vietnam, but I think she’s a little fuzzy on the rest of the details.

I did go on to tell her (and Binh) about choosing to adopt from Vietnam and how yes, we did go there on an airplane but no, we did not get Binh at the airport. Then we talked about how she was born in Boston and he was born in Vung Tau, etc. etc.

 I’m sure it all makes perfect sense to her now… 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    Oct 27, 2009 @ 20:58:48

    So, if little boys come from the airport, do little girls come from Target… because that’s where my 3 girls are always at!

    You’ve got to love a little ones mind, they are always thinking, but with simplicity and naive.

    Reply

  2. Terri Anne
    Oct 27, 2009 @ 21:47:31

    That is so cute… made me laugh out loud.

    Reply

  3. Mommy
    Oct 29, 2009 @ 03:07:44

    I’m sure you know what you are doing with the camera but I also think this has the be the cutest little girl ever. What a beautiful girl. Mommy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

