A Few Things That Make Me Smile

I’m so busy these days talking about my kids and the day-to-day things going on in our life. I thought I’d take a minute to let you in on a few things about myself. I thought about it the other day while I was driving. (Would that be considered DWD- driving while distracted? 🙂 Anyway, here are a few things that make me smile:

– I’m driving down the highway with cars rushing around me, people gettin’ where they need to go. I look up at a street light and see a red-tailed hawk looking down on the scene. I love birds of prey.

– The other day Ava was watching Nickjr. and they were talking about Thanksgiving. Then that moose says “what are you thankful for?”  Ava, in her own little world, while looking at the tv says “Mommy”.

– I love when I take a photo in perfect focus.

– When I read my really good friend’s blogs or letters, I can hear them saying the words that are written.

– I’m such a geek. Looking in a microscope makes me smile, double if I find a cell in metaphase.

– At the end of books I read to the kids, I must say “The End”. I always think of my friend Lauren who always says, “El Fin”. (The End in Spanish)

– Puppies. Enough said.

– Sometimes, not very often, Ash laughs until his face turns red and little tears trickle down his face.  I love that. I especially love when it’s something I’ve said that makes him laugh that way.

– I smile when I get to whip out my Spanish, Japanese, or Arabic on some unsuspecting person. They always look so surprised and yet relieved to know someone can help them or at least relate on some level to them. That’s always just fun.

So tell me, what makes you smile?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mommy
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 01:34:08

    I just smiled all the way through reading your blog because what makes you smile makes me sooooo happy that I have to smile too. I smile when I think of the morning we were at your house on the way to Fl. and Ava and Binh came running into the bathroom to tell me they had eaten more chocolate bunnies than they were suppose to eat. Of course, I could tell it because I can see them right now with choclate running out the corners of their mouths.

    Reply

  2. 1beautifulmess
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 16:17:54

    1) I love it when it is raining and the sun is shining. I just love that!
    2) Talking about cute kids comments…the other day Izzie was sitting on her potty and I was sitting on mine (my potty lid was closed…just FYI:)) — She looked up at me and said, “you are so beautiful momma!” And I have never felt more beautiful (even though I had no make-up on and had not showered that day!) Man, o, man…I love that!
    3) I also love that when we’re all together; we talk for hours while our husbands talk for hours! So great! You guys are such wonderful friends!

    Reply

  3. Matthew
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 16:40:42

    many things really…..

    1) remembering Connie Chung with powder doughnut all over her face.

    2) all of us saying (in unison) “He’s gettin’ an ICE CREAM!!!” Of course, I think that only happened to me once, but like 50 times to Ashley.

    3) singing harmonies.

    4) an orchestra tuning to the perfect “A.”

    5) When Sarah laughs so hard that she toots and cries (at the same time.)

    6) Our days at the Gap and the fact that we’re best friends forever and our children are going to marry each other.

    there are more, but I’ve said enough.

    Reply

  4. sarah
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 18:07:54

    well, fisrt. It should come as no surprise that I cried while reading the things that make you smile. The “being thankful for Mommy” comment really got me going. And then your friend’s comment about her daughter telling her she was beautiful. Ugh – I am a mess.

    Things that make me smile.

    Celie singing JUST flat with me while I sing You are my Sunshine. I love it.

    A good hair day. Sorry, the truth is the truth.

    Saying something that is funny and dry and knowing that the other person gets it instead of just thinking I am a freak.

    Us laughing about Celie “getting strangled” in her crib. (for those of you that just think I am horrific, my mother in law uses the word strangled instead of choked up)

    You and Ava playing baby Celie…. but more specifically, you playing the role of Celie. 🙂

    Liverpool

    So much more. Awesome post.

    Reply

  5. Shawn
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 19:35:48

    A smile comes across my face when….
    My son makes a basket at his basketball game.
    My mother and I eating at the Olive Garden.
    My guys telling me about their day at the kitchen table at supper time.
    Cooking makes me have a smile rather it is a small meal or a feast but most of all a smile is on my face every morning because I am alive and well.

    Reply

  6. Bro
    Nov 19, 2009 @ 14:24:52

    Hi sis,
    A great question.
    1. Begin your day with a smile, as it is a day created just for you like no other.
    2. Give thanks for your day. You were given this day as a gift, from one who loves us.
    3. Commit to make a difference today. No matter how large or small, your difference will change all.
    4. Get excited for your day. You are created like no other, with this day created like no other.

    I know you are smiling today sis. 🙂
    luv ya
    Bro

    Reply

  7. asmalltowndad
    Nov 19, 2009 @ 19:51:35

    1. Looking back on my beautiful daughters with memories of then, and the moments of now, knowing that moment will be a memory.
    2. Making other people smile.
    3. Seeing young people in church raising their hands in praise, not caring what others think.
    4. sitting in a tree stand with a huge buck walking my way.
    5. Knowing our family can get together and laugh and have a great time, without drinking alcohol.
    6. Watching Ava and Binh run and play, on my beach, at my beach house or so they think.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

