If You’re My Age..

Then you’ll understand why I’m excited that Ash and I went out on Saturday night (that in itself is pretty exciting) and bought Super Mario Brothers.Wii.

Our regular babysitter, whom we adore, went off to college this semester so we haven’t had any date nights in a while. She came home for Thanksgiving and wanted to make sure we knew she was happy to babysit. Gee, twist my arm..we made plans with her for both Saturday and Monday nights.

Saturday we went to Target because that’s what old, married people do on dates. We go to Target and buy things for our kids. Well, I did get Binh a new pair of pirate jammies. Now he runs around the house saying “Aaarhg!” and Ava a Hello Kitty Christmas tee. That’s one character I can get on board with her wearing. That cat is just so darn cute. Plus, she has no movie or show associated with her. She’s just there to look cute on stuff. While we were at the store, however, I remembered that Super Mario was coming out or did come out for Wii. I saw the maker of the original Mario on Fox news, and he was talking, through a translator b/c he’s Japanese, about the new Mario being  just like the old one. It has the same side scrolling screen, same button sequences for the most part etc. Needless to say I was stoked. I am a child of the first Mario Brothers and couldn’t wait to see the new one. Well, we bought it the other night and couldn’t wait to get home to play it! The people (kids) working at the electronics department were talking to us about how everyone was buying this game. I told them this was from our generation of games and the only one we know how to play! I otherwise need and eight-year-old to help me navigate how to work other games.

Ash and I played the first night until about midnight. In this new Mario Bros. two players (up to four, actually) can play on the same screen and work together to get through the levels. Plus, there are lots of fun gadgets and shortcuts to discover. The next night, we convinced the kids they were very tired and needed to go to bed nice and early. Just kidding, but we did play like as soon as they went to bed. 

Oh, the heady days of our adolescence. Now if they just make new versions of Donkey Kong and Frogger, I’m set.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karoliina
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 16:43:47

    I love it! John and I so need a date. And my soul would totally rest if I was able to give it a shopping trip to Target… if only! Anyway… What is it about kids Ava’s age that makes them ADORE and LOVE Hello Kitty???? I don’t get it. Tinsae got a few Hello Kitty shirts as hand me downs and would only wear them if I didn’t hide them under piles of “more tasteful” shirts. But, only because I have every intention of being the best mother in the world, I recently went to H&M and bought not one or two but at least SIX Hello Kitty items for her for Christmas. Scoring some major points there! (Not that I count.)

    Reply

  2. asmalltowndad
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 18:23:39

    Jump, Jump, ride, ride, side jump, jump jump jump, ride, jump jump jump! You made it!
    A little frogger lingo for you.

    Reply

  3. sarah
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 20:28:38

    Oh my. You have a fancy date night. We went to Publix on our’s. 🙂 (I only wish I were kidding here).

    I had no idea they had this game out! We could have a lot of fun with this. I bought my own nitendo myself (of course) wth my babysitting money when I was a young girl. I loved it. My sister and I would play countless hours of Tetris and Mario Bros. She ended up taking the old Nitendo with her when she got married and when I went to visit them one Christmas, I came home with blisters on my thumbs from playing so much. 🙂

    This may just have to make it on our “family” Christmas list, Right behind screening in the porch, of course, b/c that is a must when you live where we do.

    Reply

  4. sarah
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 20:30:18

    what has happened to my spelling and grammar? Sorry about that. You KNOW what I am going to blame it on, don’t you? 😉 And yes, I know.

    Reply

  5. Matthew
    Nov 25, 2009 @ 01:18:21

    Can I get a shout out for Contra????? up, up, down, down, left, right, left, right, b, a, select, start was the secret code to get 100 men!!!!

    Reply

  6. Christina
    Dec 01, 2009 @ 01:10:49

    How lame am I, that I’ve never played the original Super Mario Bros? So lame. I played PacMan, I played Frogger… but no Mario. Now I feel I must get the new Mario just so I can be hip with the 30-somethings. 🙂

    Reply

  7. leanne
    Dec 03, 2009 @ 15:12:16

    We just got a wii last week…I will be checking out this new mario game…loved it as a kid!! Zach and I had a date night last week as well and went to see The Blind Side — it is a must see — you will love it!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

