Memory of an Elephant

Ava amazes me all the time with some of the things she thinks up or says. Her mind is like a steel trap, I tell ya’. Man, it must be nice to be young and have a good, working brain like that. Here’s a little story from Saturday that made me sit back and smile.

The other day I picked up some sugary cereals from Winn Dixie. I don’t usually buy these kind of cereals, but they were buy one get one free and I’m a sucker for a deal. I got a box of Pops and a box of Apple Jacks. Now, like I said, I usually get some sort of granola or something like that. Maybe it was the deal, or maybe it was the red and green of the Apple Jacks calling me to buy them at this time of year, like they were trying to be “festive” or something. I have to say, I like a bowl of Apple Jacks myself so I opened that box first on Saturday morning. The kids were excited and came running at the smell of all that sugar.

When Ava got her bowl (which she eats dry b/c she can’t have milk) she said, “I ate these at the airport”. It took me a minute to process what in the world the child was talking about. But, as usual, she was right.

When we were in Vietnam, I bought a box of Apple Jacks to have in our room so we wouldn’t have to go out to breakfast and to fill her snack pack with since they didn’t sell Cheerios. When we were leaving, I packed a truck load of Apple Jacks into her snack pack for the plane ride home- from Vietnam- when she was 20 months old! I haven’t bought Apple Jacks since Vietnam and when she saw them she remembered where she had eaten them before.

I told her yes, she was right. We had Apple Jacks when we were in Vietnam getting Binh. I don’t know if she actually remembers that trip, or if like certain songs or smells can bring back memories, those Apple Jacks brought back that particular memory. I was amazed either way.

Why can she remember things from when she was a baby but can’t remember where she put her drink when lunch time rolls around?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarah
    Dec 08, 2009 @ 01:14:59

    That is awesome!

    I was suckered into the trap of buy one get one at Publix a few weeks ago but I got Lucky Charms (my favorite) and Cinnamon Toast Crunch. Celie has REALLY enjoyed her CTC, I don’t know that I am up for sharing my Lucky Charms. Even if they are magically delicious.

    Reply

  2. Mommy
    Dec 08, 2009 @ 01:24:27

    I can understand how you feel about this. You know I have a daughter that I am amazed that she remembers things that happened so long ago. Guess who? Yep, it’s Ava’s Mother. When we’re talking on the phone it just amazes me when she tells me a story and then says “Do you remeber that?” No way am I ever going to admit I don’t remember.

    Reply

  3. asmalltowndad
    Dec 08, 2009 @ 21:19:35

    MMmmmmm, Applejacks, Sugar… gooooood memories!
    Now, what were we talking about? I forgot?

    You have to wonder if it’s genetics, learned or combo of both, apparently I was cut short on both! Love that Ava!

    Reply

  4. melinda
    Dec 12, 2009 @ 01:23:37

    Aren’t kids crazy like that? Chloe does the same thing – pulls something obscure way deep down in her memory and in a few minutes I realize she’s completely right on about some little thing that happened ages ago. Little elephants.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

