Ava’s First Surgery

Update at the bottom of this post

Well, I can’t say this a milestone I have looked forward to, or even thought about really. But, tomorrow, Ava is scheduled to have a little outpatient surgery. She will have to be under general anesthesia, though. 😦 My poor baby. Poor mommy, too, because we have to be there at 6:00am. The hospital is about 30 minutes away, and I have to drop Binh off at our neighbor’s house. Binh doesn’t usually get up until after 8:00, so I’m sure he’ll be a joy to be around if has to get up at 5:00.

Ash has a huge week at work this week. He said it’s like the most important week of the year. So naturally, it’s also the week we have important stuff going on at home, too. I think Ash might be able to drop Binh off at the neighbor’s at 5:15 when he leaves for work if I ask nicely.

So, say a little prayer for us if you think about it tomorrow. I’m sure it will be fine; it’s just the anesthesia that makes me a little nervous. I told Ava, who was worried they were going to hurt her, that she’ll be like Sleeping Beauty and won’t feel a thing. Then, I’ll be there when she wakes up.

I’m open to advice from you seasoned parents out there!

Update: Ava did fine. She didn’t freak out or cry when she woke up. She has thrown up twice since we got home about 3 hours ago. Binh had a great time at the neighbor’s house. I think we’ll all be ready for a nap in a little while. We’ll just be taking it easy today. Thanks for thinking of us!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 23:28:22

    Oh, I’m so sorry. Good luck tomorrow. Colin has been under anesthesia twice and I know how scary that can be. He was crying when he came out both times, and he was pretty cranky for several hours afterward, so be prepared. I’m told that’s pretty normal.

    Make sure you take her favorite blanket and/ or stuffed animal!

    Reply

  2. sarah
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 14:03:29

    I will be praying for you all!!!!!! I hope to hear an update soon.

    Reply

  3. Christina
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 17:39:00

    Oh yikes, that sounds so very un-fun.

    Zeeb had general anesthesia for his big dental stuff when he was 3 1/2 and still didn’t really speak/understand English. So I’m no help on the preparation part. But I can tell you that like Tracy said, he came out of it crying and kind of freaking out a little and then the rest of the day he was nauseaus (had to rest/sleep propped up or he’d get sick) but by bedtime he was feeling lots better and by the next day he was good as new. (and for all I know the nausea was because of all the dental work??)

    I’ll be praying for Ava, and for you too – hope the day goes well.

    Reply

  4. Terri Anne
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 01:28:41

    So glad things went well, and it’s behind you. I would have the same concerns with something like that.

    Reply

  5. asmalltowndad
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 01:56:50

    All this and she still called me to wish me a Happy Birthday… I love this kid!

    Reply

  6. Robin
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 15:30:04

    Hey super Momma! Got the update – I am sure you are RELAXING today — hope we still have a DATE still on Fri 🙂

    Reply

  7. Elaine
    Jan 14, 2010 @ 16:45:42

    Glad things went well! Sorry I am so perpetually behind in reading and didn’t see before the surgery.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

