Am I Raising a Good ‘Ol Boy?

The other night, we went to the Vietnamese Japanese restaurant that I wrote about some time ago here. We hadn’t been back until this trip. We were all starving and it didn’t have a wait, and I know the kids always eat Japanese food well. Actually, Ava is like her mama and will eat her weight in shrimp if you let her no matter how it’s made.

We ate our dinner and we on our way out when Binh saw a large, white truck parked beside us. It was a white Ford F-250 that was obviously loved by its owner. The truck was kinda’ tricked out in that it was jacked up a little and had shiny chrome running boards and other accessories. Well, the owner wasn’t the only one loving this truck. It totally took me by surprise when Binh looked up at me and said, “That truck is cool..” I can honestly say that is the first time I’ve ever heard Binh use the word “cool”. Then he said, “When I grow up I drive that truck.” I laughed and told Ash what he had said. We asked Binh and he was insistent he loved that truck.

Since then, he has pointed out other trucks he’s going to drive and they’ve all been F-250’s! If he is going to drive one, I can almost guarantee he’ll need those running boards so he can get in! Little man in a big truck.. I didn’t know they made Vietnamese good ‘ol boys. I’m only worried if he picks up an Alabama drawl and takes up going to “huntin’ camps”.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. burstmode
    Feb 01, 2010 @ 17:30:47

    Oddly, I have a couple of buddies I would only describe as Vietnamese good old boys. They are both cops. They both drive trucks but one is a chevy and the other is a dodge…both are tricked out, though. Which is not unusual for Texas.

    Reply

  2. asmalltowndad
    Feb 01, 2010 @ 20:38:29

    I love this kid, I knew if he was around me and Jordan for very long, we could put a little red on his little neck. You tell him anytime he wants to go hunting, fishing or just to take his Uncle 4-wheelin, I’m there!

    Reply

  3. sarah
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 12:27:03

    Oh my owrd. He can drive his tricked out truck and Celie can drive the tractor behind it!!!!!! Who knew our kids would love such southern things? A product of their environment, I guess. 🙂

    I love this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

