Olympic Junkie

Let me just point out that I am not a huge sports fan in general. We all know I love baseball, but I don’t sit around the rest of the year watching football, or basketball or ..ugh….hockey. This is why I find my Olympics obsession so strange. At first I thought I liked watching Olympics for events that I could relate to, like gymnastics or figure skating since I took gymnastics and dance when I was a kid. During the summer Olympics, I found myself watching events like wrestling, weight lifting, and track and field. Lord knows, I cannot relate on a personal level to track and field! Now I find myself up way past what is my usual bedtime to watch the winter Olympics. I love not just figure skating (though I will be rooting on Evan Lysacek tonight- go Evan!) but I’ve been memorized by moguls, luge, and snowboard cross! (Sidebar: I’d never even heard of snowboard cross before I started watching it the other night. I couldn’t take my eyes off.) Heck, I’d watch curling  and even yes, hockey, if they showed it in primetime.

I also have a partner in crime, an enabler if you will. Ash is just as bad as I am. We sit and watch/critique (because, you know, we’re experts in all these sports) all the events they show in an evening. Last night, we rooted Lindsey Vonn, Shani Davis,  and Shaun White to gold. I’m just sure they wouldn’t have been able to do it without us. I also have to mention for my friends in Finland, the Finnish snowboarders were second on our list to root for:) There’s just something so fun about seeing people who have worked so hard in a sport they love do well. These folks and their sports don’t get a whole lot of recognition day in and day out when they’re training for these huge moments they get every 4 years. I think that’s why I love to see it.

Anyway, I can admit it. I’m an Olympic Junkie. Incase you are too, you can see the medals count here.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karoliina
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 20:10:37

    Ha! I’m exactly like you, except I draw a line before wrestling. That’s just too much, uh, skin and sweat, and contact with more skin and sweat. Uh noh. Anywho, we don’t have a TV. I know! We are usually very content watching “TV” online, but not when the Olympics are on. Of course, I conveniently planned a trip to my mom’s this week so that we could watch the Olympics with her – a late blooming sports junkie (seriously, she couldn’t tell the difference between hockey and soccer until she retired) – and root for the Finnish snowboarders AS OUR FIRST CHOICE. But certainly, oh certainly, Tinsae got sick for the first time since she was one and so we are stuck in our TVless home, enjoying the Olympics on the phone when my mom calls and explains ALL THE DETAILS OF EVERY EVENT.

    Reply

  2. Elaine
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 02:20:26

    As I’m reading everyone’s blog posts and other thing online, I’ve come to the conclusion that we are the only household in the USA that has not had the Olympics on even once so far. When I was a kid I liked watching, but now? I’m not sure what hapened. And my kids? Why don’t they like watching??? I just don’t know.

    Reply

  3. Meredith
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 07:59:41

    Was up feeding and stayed up too late reading your blog! Fun to see your updates but miss you guys! I’ve avoided the addiction that is the olympics but perhaps Saturday night I’ll watch them and think of you. Tell everyone we say hi!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

