To Facebook or Not to Facebook

That is the question.

I currently am not on Facebook. In the last couple of months about 10 people have tried to convince me to join. One of my New Year’s resolutions was to join Facebook. I got as far as going to the homepage. There is just something that keeps me from going ahead and taking the plunge. Is that strange?

I don’t feel like I’m really missing out on something major, but everyone keeps telling me how they wish I was on and how much “easier” it would be to give me information if I was just on Facebook. How much easier do people really need to have it in order to contact me? I have two phones, two emails, a blog, and let’s not forget, you could just come on over to my house if you really needed to get a hold of me! I mean, I do have actual human form. My friends at church act like I don’t actually exist in person except on Sunday or Wednesday, which is why they need to “facebook me”.

Am I being ridiculous? Do I just need to step into the Facebook era or should I keep on holding out? I must say, the reason I first refused to join the whole social network scene is because  Facebook became popular in New England about 5 or 6 years ago (when everyone else was still on MySpace) and I didn’t get onboard then. So now, I kinda’ feel like I’ve held out this long, why not just keep on going with it. Then, the other half of me thinks I shouldn’t get old and rigid while I’m only in my 30’s so I should keep up with the times.

So tell me. What do you think? Should I be on Facebook or not?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarah
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 21:01:30

    go for it. I am on it and I don’t feel like I have a “problem” with it like Matthew did (he still logs in as me if he needs his fix – although he will deny it). I like seeing what people are up to. I get a kick out of it. I DO NOT use it as another means to contact anyone (except Celie’s new daycare person b/c I hate to call and take her away from the kids). I certainly don’t use it to the fullest, but I am OK with that.

    Join. I will still be your friend, even if you don’t though. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Christina
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 21:03:38

    I understand. I held out for a while. And then I gave in. And then I had a panic attack because it is very weird to have your mom, your aunt in law, your old high school boyfriend and your best friends all in the same place. Suffice it to say I don’t post much, and I rarely post anything personal. But, it is an easy way to see what’s up with everyone. And there’s a few people (like my brother) who ONLY post to FB so if I wasn’t on there I’d be so left out of the loop.

    So… well, I’m not a huge fan or anything, but it does somehow feel “necessary” these days.

    Reply

  3. Laurie
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 01:47:06

    I’m still holding out, personally, and very thankful I have…I’ll explain more later in a pworded post about my residency interviews! It was crazy, and I’ve never been so thankful to NOT be a facebooker until that incident. But I do feel out of the loop and behind the times. I might cave someday, but not just yet.

    I have a feeling it’d be a blackhole, timewise. I just don’t get the obsession with checking up on and “friending” all sorts of people you knew but didn’t even care to be friends with in real life (random high school peeps, etc.). There are a few really good friends of mine who I lost touch with somewhere between high school or college that I’d love to reconnect with, but I don’t know if it’s worth all the junk that comes with FB. So, the jury’s still out here too…

    Reply

  4. Matthew
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 14:27:28

    Here’s the deal. If you join, you will start to feel like Whitney Houston did when she met Bobby. Do I think it’s the end-all when it comes to communication? Absolutely not. Not even a little bit. When people say that it’s easier if you were on, it just means that it’s easier for them because they’re on it all the time and they don’t want to make the effort to write you a separate email by clicking ONE WINDOW AWAY. Not to mention, if you don’t use it to it’s fullest, and you don’t post and update frequently, it becomes annoying and then you have to wonder why you’re doing it in the first place.

    You’re welcome.

    $0.02

    Reply

  5. 1beautifulmess
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 13:57:43

    I love facebook. I am going on 7 years of facebooking…i think. I am able to keep up with friends that I may or may not have ever seen again…I see that as a major benefit….some may not?

    Reply

  6. Elaine
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 20:08:05

    Facebook = meh. I like it because I have been able to find old friends and college roommates who I had lost touch with, and it is fun to see what is up with them. I have also started using it more than I intended, just because sitting down to actually write hasn’t been possible as much lately. It’s kind of like micro blogging, I guess. At the same time, all the people who need boards and garbage to build their barns on Farmville and play all of the other games and take the quizzes that send out spam updates are kind of annyoing to me. I mean, hey, if you want to play Farmville, more power to you. But I really don’t care that you lost a virtual sheep since I’m not playing. Know what I mean?

    Reply

  7. CarolKing
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 02:56:34

    Stay away! Far, far, away! Facebook is evil. I now have to defriend everyone by saying this but when you get updates from people you hardly know anymore saying things like “going to take a shower” or “waiting for dinner” and you say to yourself REALLY? this is what I joined Facebook for?

    On the other hand, I do get to see tons of pictures of my nieces and nephews and friends kids that I ordinarily wouldn’t get to see.

    So, I guess the final answer is to “friend smartly” .

    Good Luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

