So Much For Advanced Warning..

I found out about a month or so ago that the folks I stayed with in Japan over the summer are coming here to visit my church. I offered to host the pastor’s daughter (the one from this post) and her brother. They’re like 22 and 20, so it’s not really that big of a deal. I mean, I don’t think they’ll require a lot of hand-holding.

Well, I just found out about 10 minutes ago that they will be flying in tomorrow and coming to stay with me on Wednesday after church! I guess it’s a good thing I decided to clean up a little around the house today. I’m pretty easy-going, but this freaks me out a little. Also, here’s a biggie for me- I will be having the whole family over for dinner on Friday night! If you know me, you know I’m not a cook. I don’t like cooking and I mostly fix things that were once in powder form in a box. So now, I’ve gotta’ figure out what four Japanese people might like for dinner.

Any suggestions? I could use a little help here, and quick!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lil baull
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 00:45:12

    Can Ash toss some burgers on the grill? You can do a salad, baked beans, and some dessert. Then you both look like an easy- going culinary genius couple having a welcome BBQ for the family. Talk about short notice?? UGH! You are such a good sport.

    Reply

  2. sarah
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 12:55:54

    that is awesome! I mean, very short notice, but how fun to host the 2!!!

    I like the burger idea, or grilled BBQ chicken (bone in, of course). Will they eat red meat or chicken? I know the cuisine is very different. I bet they would love some cupcakes or brownies that the kids could help you with for dessert. Have FUN! 🙂

    Reply

    • metaphase
      Mar 09, 2010 @ 14:24:07

      If the weather cooperates, I think the cook out idea is great for one of the days. It’s just supposed to be raining this week and not warm later in the week like it is now. I’m so ready for spring, folks!

      Also, I guess I feel a little strange b/c the kids dad is the a pastor so I think I need to be more formal or something. Although I don’t know why I feel that way. He wore aloha shirts and took me to a Denny’s type place to eat when I was in Japan! 🙂

      Reply

  3. asmalltowndad
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 15:47:31

    You know what they say… when in mexico don’t drink the water.
    When in Alabama… Don’t eat at metaphases house!

    Just kidding Sis, you will do fine.
    I agree, backyard grilling sounds great. Maybe some shish ka-bobs, with green peppers, tomatoes, shrimp or beef and hamburgers. Makin me hungry!

    Reply

  4. Matthew
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 19:20:12

    Marinate some boneless or bone-in chicken in Kraft’s Tuscan House Vinaigrette salad dressing all day. No other seasoning is required so there’s no worry about salt, etc. It’s got great flavor. Then, I would by some french green beans and steam them. Make a rice pilaf, a salad and a simple dessert and you’re done.

    Reply

  5. Leanne
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 15:00:54

    You’ll do great! I’ve gotten to where if I am cooking for less than 10 I feel like I am not cooking at all! lol. I amd going to e-mail you some easy recipes that we live off of.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

