Don’t Hate. I Was Born This Way.

I know you all are mostly female readers who care nothing about college basketball. But you see, I can’t help that I was born a Hoosier. Therefore, basketball is part of my DNA, and although I love professional baseball more than any other sport, when mid-March rolls around, something inside kicks in and I must keep up with college basketball. Something similar happens when it’s national spelling bee time, too, but I think that’s just the geeky part of my genome.

My team at ODU was kicked out of the tournament by Baylor, but I was proud of them anyway. They did better than they have in a long time, but it wasn’t meant to be for them this time around. Better luck next year, guys.

My new hope for a wonderful Cinderella story now is Cornell. You guys, I love a good Cinderella story. I laughed out loud that Kansas lost (sorry folks from Kansas). I like Kansas (partly because I loved the font on their uniforms as a child. I know, not a good reason, but a reason nonetheless), but I just really like when the underdogs get their 15 minutes. Ok, I also laughed because Obama picked Kansas to win it all and in my twisted mind it was just another of his epic bad choices. Sorry, just being honest. It’s not right, but it’s my brain and sometimes it does whatever it wants without regard for others. Anyway, back to Cornell. They seem like such a fun group of guys. To me, right now they embody what college basketball is supposed to be about. They are playing a game they love and riding this wave for as long as they can. They know most of them will not become the next Kobe (Lord, let’s hope not, anyway..), but have made it to the Sweet 16 by actually having some fun and yes, they seem to have some skrills, too. Go read a little about the laughs they’ve been getting here.

Next I think they face Kentucky, which if they won would be a huge upset. I hope they stomp them. (Sorry Kentucky, folks. I’m just stepping on all sorts of toes today, aren’t I.) Something about some of Kentucky’s whiney players makes me want to yell “Man Up!”, so I’d like to see them go home and mature a little more.

Do I think Cornell will win the Big Dance? Probably not. But it sure would make for some more fun press conferences with them.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carissa
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 17:01:48

    wow I would have never guessed…I am FORCED to watch basketball non-stop every March ~ for this month my hubby would wish that I was more like you!

    Reply

  2. burstmode
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 19:04:42

    As a male that reads your blog, I am with you on pretty much everything you’ve said.

    Reply

  3. Shawn
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 13:51:25

    First of all, I am glad you finally claim that you are a Hoosier. March madness to me is like the superbowl, I have no knowledge on who is good or bad but lets get into it. I like Tennesse because their coach, Bruce Pearl, was a coach for our University here in Indiana for years. But their school color takes it all! Anyone can win except for Kentucky, go home boys, come back next year when you grow up and have an attitude adjustment! Could anyone guess, this is Metaphase sister?

    Reply

  4. asmalltowndad
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 19:08:31

    Hey Sis, nothing to do with basketball… where’s your poppy drawing! I’m waiting, and so are the other asmalltowndad.wordpress.com artist… post your art, Ava’s art, post something!

    Reply

  5. Elaine
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 19:58:23

    I have always wondered what exactly a Hoosier is. I mean, other than somebody from Indiana. Where did that word come from??? Any idea?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

