What. You Don’t Like It?

Next time, I’ll keep my “mouth” shut when my artist brother issues a challenge. Rather, I’ll keep my comments to myself. Now technically, it’s still the 24th, the day our pictures were “due”, but since it’s 9:00pm, it will show up as the 25th on my blog.

So, as you remember I jokingly said I’d do crayons on lined notebook paper. Well, my brother took me up on that so I had to do it. Something tells me I should stick to science and leave the art to my brother. For some real artists’ renditions, go to his blog and check out the comments where you can link to all the other artsy-farsty (not that I’m jealous) folks work. Some are pretty amazing.

Here’s the “inspiration photo”. ( I called it that. I don’t know what it’s called, really.)

Now brace yourselves for some unparalleled artistry. I, of course, took a photo of my picture. Β And remember, I’m open, I’m vulnerable. Be gentle..

Β I think it lost some color and detail because of the whole web thing. I don’t really know if that’s true. I just read others saying something like that on other art blogs I’ve read..

Oh golly, what fun this was. Thanks so much. I’ll be curled up in the fetal position if you need me.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 03:32:46

    I’m so proud of you Sis, first of all you did it, second, I’m thinking a sketch book and colored pencils are in your future!
    Thanks for joining the fun and possibly you could do a photography challenge for paybacks!
    Love ya Sis!

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 04:45:11

    Well, I have to give it to you. You created your springtime poppies with less expensive materials and you accepted the challenge your brother set before you. Good job!

    Reply

  3. ambiguousartistry
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 10:22:47

    Oh thanks for participating too, you’re poppies are very cute. I love the crayons in the background πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. sarah
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 13:37:51

    You did 100% better than I would have been able to! I am sure the kids loved it too!

    Did you take your inspiration picture? It is really nice. Kudos to you on your artistic ability. I like to think that when there is one gifted artist born in a family, they suck all the possibilities away from the others – that is what makes me feel better about my complete lack of artistic flare, at least.

    Reply

    • sarah
      Mar 25, 2010 @ 13:40:10

      Um, I just went to his blog to check out the painting. I GUESS his is a little better. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ And I can see that it probably was not your photo… but it was a great effort on your part.

      Reply

  5. Elaine
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 21:31:55

    You are cracking me up! LOVE the crayons on notebook paper. I think you should do your own exhibit. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  6. Nancy Lee
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 15:42:23

    You all have way, way, fun! So entertaining to see the array of talent and individual style. A great challenge.

    Reply

  7. asmalltowndad
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 19:13:35

    Hey Sis, I just posted my first photo (of palms) on my blog. Look out, me and my disposable camera are going to give you some competition!

    Reply

  8. Laurie
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 20:50:28

    I am cracking up. Not AT you, of course…

    Seriously, very cool that you have art & science in your family, and that you both value each other’s talents and strengths in a way that allows you to be playful and engaging with one another.

    I think you should frame your flower drawing and hang it in your kids’ room;) You can tell them a famous artist who won a contest drew it especially for them.

    Reply

  9. your sister-in-law
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 22:47:45

    Love it! Being a pre-school teacher, I can totally relate to this art form! Deserves a place on the fridge.

    Reply

  10. CarolKing
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 02:38:35

    Science Schmience! I see a real future for you in the art field.! (Your brother should be very nervous right now.) You’ve captured the essence of the reference photo extremely well with only crayons and lined paper! Welcome to the “artsy fartsy” crowd. Brava!

    Now move over, I’m crawling into a fetal position for the rest of the evening.

    Reply

  11. 1beautifulmess
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 13:09:22

    I love it!! I think it is perfect!! Is it for sale? I would totally hang it up in my house πŸ™‚

    Reply

  12. Stephen
    Apr 11, 2010 @ 19:07:49

    thank you for sharing this work with us – I think it is great stuff

    Reply

Leave a Reply

